Because I Feel as Though I Owe You Something

4 01 2010

I can’t lie.
Totally ganked from Rob.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Trans-Atlantic flight.
Dealing with that whole what-if-the-plane-goes-down-over-the-ocean-and-I’m-eaten-by-a-shark-or-whale-or-wolverine-and-it’s-all-because-I-thought-going-to-Paris-would-make-my-life-complete-when-I-should-have-just-booked-a-cabin-in-Allegheny.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t make resolutions… it just seems silly… why wait until the new year to make changes? Start now. So the short answer is: n/a

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
“Charlotte” birthed “Baby Teppo”.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
R.I.P. Grandpa

5. What countries did you visit?
Netherlands, Germany, Italy, France, UK, Ireland

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
Not as much as to have, as to not have… I’d like to shush that nagging, negative voice in the back of my head.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Unless I get amnesia, I’m pretty sure I’ll remember 10/15 (Grandpa, again), 11/25-12/11 (Europe, again) and 12/28 (none of your beeswax)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
See #1.
Also, I think I only had one throw-up-hangover in 2009, so that’s good.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I’m going to say: not speaking my mind out of fear of “losing” a disagreement.
Starting to feel like too much of my life has been spent being a doormat and it’s right about time to start saying “NO and here’s why…”

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
When didn’t I?

11. What was the best thing you bought?
You guessed it, Plane Tickets.
Though, Steve’s Birthday Present was pretty kick-ass too… “Captains of the Aud” signed, framed, COA’d…

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Mine. I am surprised I have any tongue left after biting it.

13. Whose behavior appalled you?
I will plead the 5th as I am trying not to be so judgmental.
Noooo, that is not a resolution, or else I would have bitten my tongue yesterday when I told my in-laws that their lack of vision (as in “What’s that say?”) makes me weary to have our potential spawn in a vehicle with them driving.

14. Where did most of your money go?
To the EU, mortgage, student loans.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
See #1,5,8

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier. Thank you American Pharmaceutical Companies!
b) thinner or fatter? The same… according to the scale, though “toner” wasn’t an option.
c) richer or poorer? Poorer, financially.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Being honest… in the “You’ve agitated me and here’s why” or “I’d really prefer to”

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Heard about how great babies are. I GET IT.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Slept in.
Traveled when we were ready.
Drank wine.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Everyday. (well, with the exception of a few days mid-August when we had a rift)

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Was Allison’s Intervention shown in 2009?

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No. I’m over it.

24. What was the best book you read?
I dunno… nothing really stood out. I did read “Ahab’s Wife” by Sena Naslund, which was quite an undertaking seeing as it’s near 700 small print pages.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
There was new music with listening to in 2009?

26. What did you want and get?
DSLR. Swoon.

27. What did you want and not get?
Nothing.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
I’m not much for movies as I think the only new releases I saw this year were “Gran Taurino”, “The Hangover” and “Taken”.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

M&D were in town, so we went downtown. I purchased a Tragically Hip poster and then we went for a couple drinks. Later on, we had dinner by the water while Steve played volleyball. I turned 30.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
For people to let me/us live our lives as adults. While I appreciate your trying to help, we’re grown-ups now.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Learning

32. What kept you sane?
Zoloft

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
uk. none.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Stop blaming the current administration for not being able to fix the prior administration’s faults within 10 minutes.

35. Who did you miss?
M&D, G&G

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Did I mean anyone new this year? How about my trainer(s) at the gym.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
If you think you should, do. If you don’t think you should, don’t.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
“Clearly his teeth were bare, he could have been yawning or snarling.”

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 01 2010
thegnukid

“…and 12/28 (none of your beeswax)…”

but what if i have really good beeswax?

5 01 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

hmmmmmm.
I’ll think about it.
is it already formed into one of those hourly candles?

9 01 2010
thegnukid

no, but i’ll see what i can do to make it like that…

5 01 2010
Connie

where to start…hmmm…
do we have a go on bump watch 2010 LOL sorry I couldn’t help myself!!!
Happy New Year…may it be wonderful!

Leave a Reply

