Continuing with the Food Irks

5 02 2010

If I haven’t mentioned before, Steve’s a picky eater. “What’s that?”, “I sure hope that’s not going in there!”, “Are those onions?”, “Why are you buying that pasta? It’s whole grain.”, Taco Tuesday, “It smells like garlic in here.”, “Too many beans!”. Some days it feels like I’m living with a toddler.
Don’t get me started on Bailey’s Special Dog Food (to keep her ears from inflaming) and Wet Food (to keep her butt from clogging up)… or the cats’ indoor diet.

Clearly, I’m the only one with any culinary sense in this house.

Seeing as ONE MEMBER of our house won’t* eat: fish, beans, tofu, ground turkey, shellfish, “weird” vegetables, anything too carby, anything he can’t pronounce…
Meanwhile, I do not eat veal and pork (as I do not care for the texture and taste), beets, pickled eggs or Spam  and I’m just learning to love eggplant.
ANYWAY, so seeing as I’m tiring of the same-old-same-old, I’ve been scouring the interwebs for new recipes, which brings me to the subject of this post.

Dear Recipe Sites and/or Cookbooks,

Please note that the following items are NOT recipes as it would take an IDIOT to not know what goes into preparing:

  • Peanut Butter and Jelly
  • Grilled Cheese Sandwich
  • Grilled PB&J
  • Ham & Swiss
  • Spaghetti
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs
  • Nachos
  • Pizza
  • Chicken and spinach Wrap

I think you catch my drift.
My recommendation is that if you find out someone is searching for how to make a PB&J Sammy, you log their IP address, head to their home and hit them over the head with a slotted spoon.

Love,
Stephanie

For the record, last night’s dinner:
Cubed up chicken breast, cooked up in hot sesame oil.
When cooked about 75% through, added a (large) drained can of chunked pineapple.
Simmered for 3-5  minutes.
Added 1 bottle of chili sauce.
Simmered another 3-5 minutes.
Served.
(didn’t want you to think I was all “You people can’t cook!” whilst feeding the fam Mac&Cheese or Ramen noodles)

*and by “won’t” I mean reverts to a three-year old


Actions

Information

11 responses

5 02 2010
sammy25

I have no idea how you can do it…work and cook for the fam. I work full time and by the time I get home I’m like wiped out and don’t want to cook. It makes me wonder how my mother did it with a job and family and we all still managed to get a hot meal when we get home!

As for changes in diets, I feel like I buy the same stuff all the time! Sometimes I like it and then there are times I despise it. I know how you feel!

5 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I enjoy cooking… that may be the part that makes it easy. However, when the time comes that we decide to spawn, I’m sure that will change and it will be Mac&Cheese/Ramen noodles.

5 02 2010
S. Le

After cooking for the last 100 years, I don’t enjoy cooking after I’ve been at work all day. Days off are another story and I quite enjoy cooking a nice meal. You’d think I’d cook ahead and have food for the entire week but I’m not good at that. I just never know what will sound good a week in advance!

Did you see that woman on Good Morning America who plans her meals a year at a time? I think she’s insane.

5 02 2010
daisyfae

umm…. some of us need the confidence provided in a recipe. although even I can make a sandwich. that’s the thing with two pieces of bread, right?

5 02 2010
curlywurlygurly

steve sounds like he could be my long lost brother. except for the ground turkey thing. 2 years ago i would NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER have eaten ground turkey…but i figured out how to cook it and make it taste like something good.

i limit my flavors to: ketchup, salt, mac&cheese, chicken fingers, and my mom’s cooking.

xoxoxo

5 02 2010
Jill

I’m probably the pickiest eater on the planet – but I *do* like beets 🙂

Growing up, my parents used to make me sit at the dinner table until I finished everything on my plate. Even if *they* put something on my plate I didn’t like. There were times I sat there for hours before they gave up on me 😀

I can’t cook if my life depended on it, so recipes – no matter how simple – are good. And even with a recipe, my results are usually 50/50.

…But now as I reflect on that – maybe I would do better without recipes!

6 02 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

PB & J is too a recipe. You can use grape, strawberry, raspberry … the list goes on and on. Plus you can use chunky or smooth!

8 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

S. Le: That chick who plans for the whole year? Ugh, that must be boring… part of the “fun” of cooking is seeing what doesn’t have freezer burn/mold and figuring out what to do with it.

daisyfae: unless you mean paninni

CWG: You and Steve can hang out and talk about how your SOs are”crazy” because of what they eat.

Jill: WHY did parents do that?!?! Mine did the same thing, in fact, with beets. They didn’t give up though…. I missed many a family event because of those stupid beets.

Jim: Come closer, I have a new spoon to try.

8 02 2010
writerdood

Wow, that makes me think it would be cool to create a cookbook containing nothing but absolutely obvious recipes. Like how to make mac and cheese in the microwave from one of those instant mac and cheese containers you get from Costco. Heck, the recipe is on the side, I can just copy that and put it in the book! Or how to heat Campbells soup. Or how to toast bread. PB and J, are of course a staple. How about how to make Top Ramen?

Lots of opportunities here.
Thanks for the idea!

8 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

hey writerdood, welcome to the fray.

P.S.
My cut is 10%

12 02 2010
Tony

Eggplant??? Gag, gag, gag…
Grilled PB&J, are they for real????
Once you take out all the things you’s don’t eat there isn’t much left to choose from

Leave a comment