Wordful Wednesday: Selfish

13 10 2010

To anyone who feels personally offended that I haven’t been updating:
We were admitted Thursday night.
Baby Boy Mak showed up Friday morning  (6lbs, 4 oz), via a slice in my adbomen and since then, I’ve been trying not to die*.
Seems my bribe of pumpkin cupcakes didn’t work as my arm’s bruising up from my IVs (yes, plural) and blood draw sites. At least they listened to me and only used tape when 100% necessary.
Anyway, here we are this morning after breakfast.

He’s a champ and has charmed all the nurses.
I, meanwhile, continue to be on modifed bedrest, while charming the nurses with my humor.

* Dr. Wiki on HELLP Syndrome. My platlets were at 6k during the event, if you get to the part that talks about severity. So thanks to the aunt who said I looked terrible while my major organs were failing. You win the “awesome. shut-up” award.

Actions

Information

23 responses

13 10 2010
hisqueen

Congratulations!!!!..glad you’re both doing ok..

13 10 2010
Cynical Scribble

Whoo Hoo, congratulations to you all!

Well done on not dying too *high five* 😉

13 10 2010
daisyfae

Zoicks! That’s a new one for me, and my favorite thing to do while in my first pregnancy was hang out in the medical library and read obstetrics books (favorite chapter, of course, “Complications in Pregnancy and Childbirth”).

You look great, kiddo, and that’s a pretty gorgous li’l spawnlet!

13 10 2010
twobarkingdogs

I was wondering …. and am so glad to hear that you are both doing well! What an adorable little guy. Congrats!

Now, get some sleep, because it will be in short supply for the next 20 to 30 years!

best,
Diane
@TBD

13 10 2010
Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket

Yippie!!!!! You get a new baby and I get a new identity…because this day needs to be about me…because it just is.

Congratulations…now you get to start stepping in squishy things.

14 10 2010
Tony

Congratulations on your baby!!!
I hope you didn’t do too much whining over the giving birth part like a lot of women do. And birth is a regular thing that occurs daily around the world, hardly an excuse to avoid blogging… 🙂
CONGRATULATIONS to you all once again!!!

18 10 2010
connie

Dishy and a bunch of us S.L.O.B. S. are cyber hugging the newest Mak family member…too darn cute. Glad you are on the mend. Hugs!

14 10 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

Congratulations! I thought the big event might be going on. I’m glad you’re doing better. Keep up the charm and the nurses might slip you some extra lime Jell-O. 🙂

14 10 2010
lavenderbay

Owwwwwwwwwwwwwww! And I thought an episiotomy was bad.
Thank you for not dying.
Welcome, Baby Mak!

14 10 2010
Jill

Wahoo! Congratulations on your new family!!! You and hubby must be soooo happy 🙂

Ugh on the HELLP thing 😦 It sounds like you’re going to be OK tho’… Yay!

And a *special* congrats for not killing anyone for asking stoopid questions during your pregnancy! (You didn’t, did you?)

Are you missing any foods any more?

14 10 2010
Melissa Murphy

Congrats to you all!!!

15 10 2010
writerdood

Excellent work.
Bet you’re glad that’s over!
Congrats.

15 10 2010
S. Le

Salutations and hearty congratulations!! So exciting! And hey, fab blogging material!

15 10 2010
that girl

Wow. Wow! WOW! Congratulations. You look great and so does the baby!

16 10 2010
thedailydish

I know I’ve said it already, but it simply can’t be said enough —

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope you are at home, at last! xoxo

16 10 2010
thedailydish

PS: You’re both beautiful.

16 10 2010
goingroundandround

Congratulations, and so glad you stayed alive! Hope you’re feeling all better soon. Baby boys are wonderful (even when they are 16 and grumpy about getting up in the morning!) Can’t wait to hear more about adorable Baby Mak 🙂

18 10 2010
Maggie Mae

Congratulations, the world’s a better place.

20 10 2010
daffy

Look at you both! My word that’s a pic to make you smile! Congrats to both mummy and daddy. I’ll have a little shop about for some suitable English baby boy wear! xx

24 10 2010
hisqueen

just stopped by to see how you’re doing..Hope everything is settling in to place and that you’re recovering nicely. He is just adorable. Can’t wait to see more pictures of him.

25 10 2010
thegnukid

congrats. an absolutely gorgeous couple you are. the little spawnlet is amazing!

9 11 2010
Allison

Congratulations and, holy cow, that sound scary. I think you look pretty darn fabulous. And so does that cute baby of yours!

29 11 2010
bevchen

Incredibly belated congratulations. What a gorgeous baby! And you’re not looking too bad yourself 😉

Leave a Reply

