Because Things Which Come Out of Your Body Aren’t Gross Enough to Begin With…

27 07 2010

It’s been a long standing joke between Steve and I about what we are going to do with the placenta after Mini arrives.
He’s got this unreasonable fascination with it, while I’m more KILL IT WITH FIRE.
Because it freaks people out, we’ve often, publicly, talked about having friends over and making it into salsa.*

Today, I was browsing the internets and came across something just as disturbing… I was going to just post the photo and link to it, but I don’t know if you’re eating or have eaten in the past say, 12-hours.
There’s a kit out which allows you to sew together a teddy-bear-looking thing from a placenta.
I so wish I was kidding.
So of course, I emailed it to Steve, “If we didn’t want to make salsa…”
“For some reason, I am extremely creeped out. EWWWWW, this will be a part of my new diet plan.  I would rather eat the salsa.”
“I think ‘creeped out’ is reasonable and valid response to this.” , I replied.

And of course I couldn’t let it be… so I texted him, “Placenta Bear wants your soul.”
“STOP IT. Get it away from me!”
“It just wants to sleep on your side of the bed…”

* OMG WTF,  NO!

(Yes, this is on ssmak.wordpress.com too, but I’ve got that linked/auto-posted to another site too)

Actions

Information

20 responses

27 07 2010
whatigotsofar

Nothing that spews forth from human beings should be put to use in any sort of productive manner.

28 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

okay, right?
There’s a whole sub-culture DEVOTED to doing things with a placenta… EW EW EW EW EW

27 07 2010
Cynical Scribble

I’m too scared to even look at the teddy-bear-like-thing link. The images in my head are enough.

28 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

And they’re probably accurate images. Placenta Bear would visit your nightmares, a la Freddy Kruger.

27 07 2010
that girl

guhhh-yucky. That’s what I say when something is more than guhhh-ross!

Yikes. I feel sorry for the kid whose parents would buy that kit. That’s a little twisted.

28 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

It’s way more than guhh-ross… its G.D. Disturbing.
I asked Steve last night, “HOW do you explain something like that?”
“You simply say, ‘It’s a Placenta Bear’ and that’s that.”
“Wouldn’t there be more questions, like ‘why?'”
“Probably not.”

28 07 2010
goingroundandround

Oh. Um. Eeeeee.

28 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

You clicked the link, didn’t you.

28 07 2010
goingroundandround

I actually couldn’t bring myself to click the link, but…just the thought! Aaaack!

28 07 2010
Jill

I couldn’t bring myself to click on any of the links.
I was too afraid :-O

🙂

30 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

and with good reason, I assure you.

29 07 2010
Michele D.

I clicked the link…ewwwww!~

30 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

!!! I know! WHHHOOO would do that?!?!

30 07 2010
Connie

ew. I don’t think I need to click on placenta links…I have enough gosh awful images in my head to last a lifetime. one thought though…they use horse placenta (I think) in some hair treatment products…wonder if human would work as well…okay, grossed myself out…by now.

30 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I threw up a little too… *shudder*

31 07 2010
Tony

Placenta salsa??? Placenta bear???
I’m about to vomit about now!!!
Now I’ll go click the link…

31 07 2010
Tony

So it’s actually inside the teddy like bear entrails???
Doesn’t it just get chucked in with all the other medical waste at the hospital for proper disposal??? Or do they let you keep it now??? Last time I had a tooth pulled I wasn’t allowed to keep it due to hygiene reasons so surely you can’t take your placenta home. ewwww… Just typing the “P” word makes me nearly gag…. Next time I’m about to dip some corn chips into salsa I’ll remember this post & not be able to eat it!!!

1 08 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Some hospitals let you keep the placenta… some choose to eat it, some plant it, I’ll just be happy that it did it’s job.
Just call it The Placenta Bear Diet.

10 08 2010
S. Le

Gosh! I’m happy they take it away and I don’t have to see the bloody (literally) thing!

11 08 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

in The Video, the hospital staff put it in one of those bins they give you to throw up in and presented it to the parents.
No.
Thank you.

Leave a Reply

