WTFFriday (in a “Dear so-and-so” concept)

16 07 2010

WTF GD?
Hey, Gestational Diabetes, WTF?
No, really. I want, nay, need to know.
When I went in for lab work, my levels were “elevated” (not “OMG!”, but above normal). Which meant that after losing 4 hours last Wednesday and an entire Saturday (which come to find out, despite my questioning the lab, WAS supposed to be a three-hour test; not pencils down at two hours.), I got to lose ANOTHER 2 hours on Tuesday because I had to go for “Education”. Said “Education” involved the doling of a glucose meter* and a look of sheer confusion from the dietitian when I said I don’t eat a lot of animal based protein. For real though, from the look on her face, you’d though I had asked her to build a replica of the Hindenburg out of popsicle sticks.
After everything was said and done (sans crying fit!) all of my levels have been WELL within range.
Maybe now people will understand that I am not good with lab work. Or perhaps it was that I’m not that much of a sugar junkie, so when you deliberately overload my system, of course I’m going to have processing issues.

WTF Pushy Prom Date?
Annoyance: Hey, you want a doughnut?
Me, nicley: No. Thank you though.
Annoyance: They’re fresh from Hortons.
Me: No. Thank you.
Annoyance: They’re chocolate.
Me: No.
Annoyance: Are you ssssuuuurrreee?
Me: I ALREADY TOLD YOU NO THANK YOU.
Annoyance, startled: Well. Okay then.

WTF Sidewalk Walker?
If you’re on the side of the sidewalk that has 20 feet between you and say the curb, and someone is coming towards you and they have 1 foot between them and some sidewalk construction, would it kill you to move over a couple of feet so  you can both get by?
It would?
I see.

WTF Dreamtime?
Really subconscious? You couldn’t think of any better situation to put me in than transporting Adult Stephanie to 15-Year-Old Stephanie’s job at the drugstore, running a cash register?
THANKS.

Props Bailey!
Aw, you knew that I was having a rough night and that 2 a.m. cuddle was f-ing awesome.
You scored extra adorable points by resting your head on The Baby Bump and sleeping.

WTF, wait, No, AWESOME!
Twilight, or Eclipse, I don’t know which is which… anyway, here it is, acted out by lolcats and loldogs.

*Which I have to admit, I have on the lowest stab-with-results setting as possible and I can’t feel it. YYYYEEEESSSSS.

Actions

Information

16 responses

16 07 2010
whatigotsofar

You saying you turned down a donut? I don’t care if it was a cruddy Tim Hortons donut. A donut is a donut.

16 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

That whole diabetes thing kind of discourages doughnuts.

16 07 2010
S. Le

Loved this post!

Hope all is well re: diabetes thingy.

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

aw, you’re makin’ me blush!

16 07 2010
hisqueen

donuts, drugstores, diabetes…oh my..
love the link to lolcats &loldogs..very cute post they made.
you should have preggo stumbled them right off the edge..

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I never read any of that Twilight stuff and it was still funny, so they must have done a good job.

17 07 2010
daisyfae

my glucose levels never went to “OMFG”, but you’d never have known it from the grim looks of concern from nurses and doctors… never mind the horror stories from this person, who knew someone who dealt with it, and had a 3 headed, fire-breathing baby because of it… your saga takes me back.

it’ll be ok. Bailey told me so…

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

3 heads means 3 sets of shoulders, right?
OMGWTFBBQ?!?!?

Bailey knows all… like Zoltar.

17 07 2010
bevchen

My boyfriend is diabetic and he says stabbing himself with the glucose meter doesn’t hurt. I always assumed he was just so used to it he didn’t even notice, but if you can’t feel it either I suppose I’ll have to believe him 😉

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I have it set on a “light” setting; I’d rather fiddle and press around to get the blood out than have it come out from the puncture wound… somehow when I hurt me, it’s not as bad…
it’s that “PLING!” that makes me jump, like it should hurt, but it doesn’t. Unless I poke the inside of my pinky, that spots no good.

18 07 2010
Dolce

Breeding is a beeeeaytch! Why do we want to do it? *sigh*

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Well, the “how” of breeding is pretty awesome.
Gets rid of that pesky, “What if I get pregnant?!?!” voice in the back of your head.

18 07 2010
lavenderbay

Bailey cuddles. A little sanity in an insane world.

19 07 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

If only I could bottle them up and bring them with me for when I have a crisis day.
Or sell them.
YYYEEEESSSSS.

19 07 2010
Connie

I can always count on you for a dose of good ole WTF humor!!! Thank goodness for our four legged friends! There is a song by Christine Kane 2 legs Bad 4 legs good…all about our furry friends…it is hilarious and wonderful!

20 07 2010
kyknoord

Ah, that explains why I struck out on prom night.

Leave a Reply

