Daily Dose of WTF.

25 06 2010

For some reason, I seem to have the oddest run-ins with people… e.g. the intern who announced his arrival and took a cup of water to the restroom, the homeless candy thief , the “who just called me?”….

My boss comes in from the hallway. “There’s a couple of guys walking around, door to door, with big hats.”
“Like big funny hats or stetsons…”
“Like Hassidish Jews.”
“Oh. Um. Okay.”

A few minutes later, they walk into the office.
“Hello.” I say.
“Hello. Today is Jewish Awareness Day.”
“Oh!”
“So, we were wondering if there was anyone Jewish in this office.”
“Um, well, I really won’t know that…”

I’m sure the look on my face was priceless.

This doesn’t happen to everyone, does it.

Actions

Information

19 responses

25 06 2010
whatigotsofar

The building unit where I work was previously leased by a Jew. Jews put these things by the door of homes and businesses. I don’t know what it is, but I gets lots of Jews soliciting for charities but they skip past all the other units in the building.
It wouldn’t bother me but because I look Jewish (apparently I do) and they start speaking to me in Hebrew. I just look at them and say “Uh, yeah. I’m a wop. Sorry.”

26 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

We just have a logo on our door…. but there ARE two lawyers on our floor…
Good thing I picked casual Friday to display my new-found cleavage.

25 06 2010
writerdood

Hmm…. wasn’t on the calendar.
WTF?
You should call them on it.
They probably weren’t real Jews. They were probably a couple of thieves casing the joint for a robbery. Wait until you come in on Monday, all your computers will probably be missing.

26 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I’ve watched way too much “I Survived” to disclose ANY information.

25 06 2010
Jill

WTF – Wow That’s Fantastic!

At least your odd run-ins make for really funny stories 🙂 I just get people who make me roll my eyes – like the guy this week who was complaining about the bill collectors calling him all the time about bills he doesn’t want to pay. And then is swearing at the bank a couple of hours later because they won’t give him a loan for a car he wants to get…

Yeah – rolling my eyes here.

26 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

“Give me money I won’t pay back!”
And how’s that working out for him?

Some people….

26 06 2010
morethananelectrician

I would try this at places around my office, but our office is in a HubZone.

As I walk into a crack den…

“Excuse me…I was wondering…Are any (edited to not offend) people here?”

28 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

“Ya’ll want some grape soda? I kid!”

28 06 2010
morethananelectrician

It’s “drink.”

29 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

damn my sheltered upbringing!

26 06 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

Too bad they weren’t handing out bagels or something. Then people would have been happy to see them.

28 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

and that’s how you pay off the pregnant secretary.

27 06 2010
twobarkingdogs

You should start a new meme “WTF Friday” … ’cause I know I could definitely be a big time contributor to that theme lately.

28 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I think that is a wonderful idea.

28 06 2010
kyknoord

“So, we were wondering if there was anyone Jewish in this office”
“Uh, not that I’m aware of, but hey – that’s where you come in, not so?”

28 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

reminds me of that scene from The Naked Gun where the snitch borrows $20 to pay off Drebin.

28 06 2010
lavenderbay

Like queerness, Jewishness is an optionally visible part of one’s identity. I’m trying to imagine, then, what people might be up to if they were going around asking to have all the gay members of an office identified, and I can only conclude that such information seekers would be up to no good. Good for you for sending that pair packing.

28 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

On this side of the border, it’s against Equal Opportunity Employment laws to ask people their religion (among other things), so even if someone comes in sporting a Star of David, I still can’t acknowledge it.

28 06 2010
lavenderbay

“Yeah, Abe might be one, or maybe he’s just always wanted to be a sheriff, I’m not sure which…”

Employment laws don’t permit such nosiness here either, although I was thinking that applied to interviews, with informal office chitchat being more of a grey area. But yeah, leaning towards discretion and confidentiality is always appropriate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

