From the “Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time” File…

7 06 2010

Friday night saw me at the gym… I’m not gonna lie, it’s been 100% easier to be lazy on the sofa than to go for a 30 minute treadmill walk*. Plus, I had a meeting established with The Trainer, so I was obligated to go.
Dealing with some residual back pain**, The Trainer and I agreed to work on arms. And work we did. I even cranked up the weight on some exercises. By the time we were on our last exercise (weight assisted tricep dips) I insisted on finishing a set at a heavier weight. “Everything I do with endurance and ‘working though it’ is practice, I can do it and I will do it.” I may have scared my trainer.
100 oz of water into the night and I was ready for bed.

Saturday morning saw me up at 730 because TBD decided to stick his/her arm/foot into my ribs. FOR HOURS.
So I watched 3 hours of “Flip this House”.
After lunch, I steam cleaned the carpet in the front room*** and set to prepping TBDs room for paint.
People, I can not tout the wonders of a 2-to-1 vinegar water mix for removing wallpaper and backing.
Slight arm pain and regret start to set in.

Sunday morning we were scheduled to go “picking” with a cousin-in-law, however, the weather was not cooperating, so we ended up wandering the indoor stalls.
I ended up with nothing.
Back home, we finished patching and decided that the “right way” to paint the room would be to remove the moulding. And said  mouldng would probably be removed when the carpet was installed anyway, so we weren’t upset. Well, until we got the part where we couldn’t remove a piece because it was bumped against another piece which required removal starting at the opposite end of the room and necessitated the removal of the moulding around the doorframe.
The good news is that next week we only have to take out the bed and a dresser because EVERYTHING else is already cluttering up my office.
Patching , sanding, vacuuming and rewashing of the walls is done, painting to commence Tuesday.

Today, I can’t put my arms down.

How was your weekend?

* I posted a status update on Evil Facebook stating that I need to stop talking myself out of going to the gym (or whatever makes sense to say that I need to go back, ‘ever) and of course, I got the obligatory, “OMG, you don’t have to worry about your figure right now!” post… thing is, I never said I was worried about my figure. In fact, I’m the opposite of worried- I know that being fit will make the squishy-watermelon-out-of-a-stretchy-lemon less traumatic. And it’s about not being a lazy schmuck, eating Cool Whip from the tub on the sofa.
**It’s fine now. Yes I called the doctor.
*** Hopefully for the last time (for that rug), our carpet gets installed on the 15th!

Actions

Information

29 responses

7 06 2010
whatigotsofar

What sort of moulding you talkin’ ’bout here? The baseboard, the quarter-round, wainscotting, crown? The only moulding I can think of that needs to be removed for installation of flooring would be the quarter-round. Everything else should stay.

7 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

baseboard! That’s the word I was brainfarting on!
for some reason I was thinking “kickboard” but that wasn’t right.

7 06 2010
Connie

You were thinking kickboard because you wanted to! 🙂 Can I mention how NON productive I was all weekend? I did too much last weekend. We expect photos when room is complete. okay, thanks!

7 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

me? not take photos? as if!
And lazy weekends are nice, he had to practically drag me off the sofa Saturday morning to get my butt in gear.

7 06 2010
kyknoord

Can’t put your arms down? Do you feel the urge to shamble along listlessly, muttering, “braaaaaaiins”?

7 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

why? do you know where I can get some? Because I have this friend, who may or may not be the living dead…

7 06 2010
Rambleicious

There’s only one remedy – those arms will have to come off. 😉

The only thing you should lift today is a tub of coolwhip. I’m not a doctor, but I’m pretty sure that’s what a real doctor would tell you. 😀

7 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

they can come off?
that’d be marvelous!
Sadly, I have yoga this evening, so after I lift myself into downward dog, I may need to dust off that Cool Whip.

7 06 2010
hisqueen

I will confess..the only thing I got out of this posting is the “braaiiinns” (from Kyk) and cool whip info and now I’m hungry..very nice.
Sounds like your taking the high road and not being the “oh, poor me..I’m pregnant and can’t lift a finger” route. Awesome of you… will make life easier to get back to pre-TBD weight and having more energy when TBD gets here.

7 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

you have brains too?! Awesome!

While not being all “woe is me!”, I am taking frequent breaks and walking MUCH slower than before.
My arms aren’t pregnant and The Bumps not bumping into the wall (yet), so might as well.
TBD better return my energy, I’m feeling pretty low on it right now.

7 06 2010
bevchen

I love how you’re calling the baby TBD. Fabulous!

8 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I feel like he/she deserves a name, but because we’re waiting to find out… plus “The Baby” ad nauseam is even less namey.

8 06 2010
bevchen

Loads of people I know with kids called the baby “peanut” while they were still pregnant. I never have undersood that one to be honest…

7 06 2010
daisyfae

working on the arms is a good plan for a bazillion reasons… i am about to turn 48. i have waged war on my genetically coded “bingo wings”. i do not want my arm fat waving at my friends…. besides, ripped biceps scare the crap out of the men i work with when i remove my suit jacket!

8 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Heck yeah ripped arms scare people.
We call them “Bye bye arms” because they say goodbye twice after you do.
There’s that fine line between Skelator/Madonna and nice… you’re on the nice end.

8 06 2010
curlywurlygurly

lol. don’t you know there are PEOPLE for all these household chores? have i taught you nothing in 3 years?!?!?!

i went to the ocean grove flea market on saturday morning–it’s held 2x a year in this quaint beachy town a few miles from me. the prices were absurd and i only bought a bag of kettle corn. go me. 🙂

8 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

My person was mowing the lawn and taking care of poop.
We did shell out to have the carpet people rip-out/dispose/install, so we did actually HIRE someone 🙂

And may we never speak ill of Kettle Corn and all it’s glory.

8 06 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

You can put your arms down when you get to school.

8 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

but Raaaalllpppphhhiiiiieeee!

8 06 2010
jb

Hey I totally agree with you nothing beats lazen around on the sofa doing arm curls. You bring the chip up untill you reach the proper level. Then you do the right arm drink curl. Then we work on the legs lift them both up untill you can get a cushion under them. Now that’s a work out plan if you ask me.

9 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

before I got KU, I was on the 12-oz curl routine.
That was more fun.

Thanks for stopping by!

8 06 2010
lavenderbay

Rofl from the post and its ensuing COMMENTS SECTION. Thanks!

9 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

see, I knew my ambition was going to be worth it!

9 06 2010
thedailydish

I can’t believe you got all that done!! My first pregnancy, I slept the first 6-7 months straight. Seriously. Hope yer arms is much better today! xo

9 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

believe you me, Monday night my body was in a SERIOUS state of “WTH WOMAN!”, which found me left-side-laying on the sofa with a big ol’ glass of water.
My arms are better today, barometric pressure aside.
SIGH.
Baby kicks hello to Auntie Dishy!

9 06 2010
thegnukid

>>Saturday morning saw me up at 730

huh? are you even human? who gets up on purpose at that time of day?

10 06 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

people with people growing inside of them get up that early… there was no moving that kid… good thing I go to bed at 930 at night. Damn kids, get off my lawn with your hip-hop and Segways!

10 06 2010
Tony

Sofa always wins out for me. So how long were your arms stuck up for??? Must’ve been a funny sight. Now if you had just stayed on the sofa all would still be ok. I hope you’ve learned your lesson…

17 06 2010
Partial End Result… « please, stop bouncing

[…] End Result… 17 06 2010 Last week I had talked about peeling wallpaper,scrubbing walls and painting and, well, here’s the fruits of my labor. Well, okay, Steve helped… From the hallway, […]

Leave a Reply

