Trying to Shake it Off

11 05 2010

If you didn’t know yet, I am taking yoga once a week.
Yoga’s always been good to me and I felt like I needed to mix up my fitness routine.

I guess the stresses of the past week* took its toll more than I expected… it was IMPOSSIBLE to unwind at class.
Typically, I get in the zone and am so focused that whatever was on my mind is replaced by keeping my shoulders down/staying aligned/not tipping over.
Not last night.
Holy crap, I was teetering all  over the place, using my shoulders as earrings and I was late to class.
Even during the apres workout relaxation my mind was a freight train; as it continued through the entire night, pretty much stopping between the hours of 430am and 630am.

I hate the feeling of not being able to “let go”.
During relaxation, I was going over things in my head… “The day is done, let it go.”, “You can not solve that problem until tomorrow.”, “Focus on your breathing” and the like.
No dice.
Plus, all this pent-up whateveritis isn’t doing my physce any favors.

Suggestions?
Please to note: I can’t take long hot baths or drink or go on a rampage with a weapon. Well, technically, I guess I could, it’s just ill-advised.

*Friday: Trip to Erie with Annoyance, which takes a lot of energy to “be good”. Then when I took a nap, I got bit by a spider.
Saturday: Family party with legions of rude children** and overly-nosy/rude questions (“are you excited?”, “What do you mean you’re not having a theme for the room?”, “Just wait until…”, very unwelcome attempts at bump contact…) and a lot of energy to be good.
Sunday: Additional family interactivity including more “Just wait until…” Not to mention I had a severe bout of I-don’t-feel-good-itis and a hell of a lot of room-making-stretching-pain. Oh, and I’m onto the cousin who told their kid to touch my belly as much as possible and I do not like it. Oh and the expelled energy to “be good”.
Monday: Catch up all day from work I couldn’t do on Friday.

**The room (it was Steve’s cousin’s communion) was crowded (due to the extreme weather, we were all smooshed inside) and I was trapped between the end of a 8-foot table and an end table.
This 6-8 year old girl wedges herself between people and hops up on the sofa. No issue.
Then she decides she wants to see the fish tank that’s on the end table.
She’s trying to get over the arm of the sofa, meanwhile, she’s bumping into and kicking my arm.
I had had enough. “EXCUSE ME. Am I in your way?”
“Yes.”
“Well first of all, this is a table, not a seat…”
“I want to see the fish.”
“You can see the fish from the sofa.”
And Steve gives me this did-you-just-yell-at-someone-else’s-child look.
So I tell him, “Do you want to switch seats and sit here and get kicked? No? Then I guess you have nothing to say.”

Actions

Information

8 responses

11 05 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

I say try the rampage. They’ll never convict a pregnant woman.

11 05 2010
morethananelectrician

uh…I don’t want to make your list. You should just take more naps.

12 05 2010
lavenderbay

Aaaaauuuuugggghhhh! I feel for you.

I would head for a big public park and go for a long, leisurely walk, stopping to admire buds and blooms and birds. Or if it’s teeming, head for a funky cafe with a big notebook and a pen that doesn’t gob. Or for free, I might ensconce myself in a quiet corner of the public library and look at picture books of whatever currently interests me (landscaping, wildlife, recipes, pets, etc).

12 05 2010
Tony

legions of rude children???
You really should go on a rampage with a weapon.
Other than that, like Steve I have nothing to say either.

12 05 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Dennis: Free pass! Free pass! Cue the music!

MTAE: Believe you me, if I could nap more, I would…

lavenderbay: The weather here’s been rainy and COLD so going outside is not a possibility. Usually a good BaileySnuggle helps, but being away from home, that wasn’t a possible. I’ll keep the other ideas in my back pocket for the next time I feel like snapping necks.

Tony: That’s two for weapon. Hmmmm.

12 05 2010
Jill

If you can manage it, definitely go on the weapons rampage – it’s good physical activity and you can have the satisfaction of looking upon a job well done 🙂 If that can’t be arranged, I find that immersing myself in a really good book does wonders for clearing out my head – it’s because you can’t do anything else while reading the book.

I’m glad that your spider bite is healing up – that looked *nasty*! …loved the googly eyes tho 🙂

13 05 2010
kyknoord

What’s that expression about other people’s children? Something involving devils and pitchforks and boiling pits of agony – can’t quite put my finger on it.

15 05 2010
S. Le

What Dennis/James said.

I really dislike rude children and their equally rude parents. I’m so glad I don’t work in the Children’s department at Library. I’d likely be arrested repeatedly until sent up to the penn.

Leave a Reply

