More Awesomer

5 03 2010

(the first post from today was actually written yesterday and auto-posted today, but today’s post was too, well, “awesome” is and isn’t the right word)


http://www.buzzfeed.com/awesomer/1991-was-awesome (originally)
Note: I was not listening to the sound on this video, I transplanted myself to 1998 with KMFDM’s Megalomaniacal.

ANYWAY, I counted at least 24 (TWENTY-FOUR) fads I participated in.

24

And that was by the 6 minute mark!

  1. Windbreaker
  2. Sweatshirt as “going out!” apparel
  3. Big Hair
  4. Overalls with one strap hooked
  5. Hammer pants
  6. Tapered pants
  7. Bob (haircut)
  8. Short jacket
  9. Mullet (thank Mom!)
  10. Old Man Sweater; as “horrible pattern” and “cardigan”
  11. Acid Washed Pants
  12. White socks with black flat Mary Janes
  13. Airbrush
  14. Frumpy Sweater; as “Way too big” and “Pilly” (example from from 1996 or 1997, furthering the idea that I’m behind the times)
  15. Silk shirt
  16. High-waisted-waist-pleated Pants
  17. Tucked in sweater (typically of the #14 variety)
  18. Turtleneck and a sweater (also of #14 variety) OR turtleneck and a sweatshirt (of #2 variety)
  19. Stirrup pants
  20. Oversized shirt with an oversized belt
  21. Banana Clip
  22. Wearing a work appropriate skirt suit to someplace other than work
  23. Big Bangs. Please note, different than Big Hair.

    like, OMG!

  24. Plaid Pants. Mine were Skidz. For real.

Okay readers, how many fads did you see that reminded you of you?

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 03 2010
S. Le

I did the hair, sweatshirts, big sweaters, plaid trousers, banana clip, big shirts with belts, high-waist trousers, sweaters with turtlenecks, big fringe (bangs), silk shirts, tapered legs, and stirrups. Horrible, awful stuff! How could we have committed such heinous fashion crimes?!? Now I’ll probably have nightmares after seeing that video!

5 03 2010
Jill

Yeah, unfortunately (or fortunately – depending on how you look at it), I was never a slave to fashion… I wore mostly hand-me-downs I and had straight hair that never cooperated with anything I tried to do with it – I always envied the people that had ‘wings’ that would stay brushed back like they were supposed to be 😦

I do like to wear turtlenecks under my sweatshirts tho’!

8 03 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

S. Le: WHAT were we thinking???!?!?

Jill: We used to get hairspray from the dollar store in the Galleria… it’s the only one that would hold up in gale winds; and ruin curling irons/brushes at an exponential rate.
Well, are we talking 1991 sweatshirt style or current? There in lies the defining factor.

8 03 2010
Jill

Ummm…. No comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

