Om nom nom nom

22 02 2010

It’s Monday.
The alarm clock buzz/beep has been incorporating itself into my dreams, making for groggy/confusing mornings. Ugh.
Oh, and there’s ANOTHER icky afternoon commute storm coming our way and Weatherbug just started it’s “OMG FREEZING RAIN!” blink. Double ugh.

But you know what makes me feel better?
Food!

Whilst surfing the webs, I came across a new food site (closed the window, sorry) which publishes “5 Dinners” on Monday.
Looking through the archives, I noticed someone had posted chipped beef (A.K.A. “Shit on a Shingle”) which while ranking VERY high on the comfort foods listing, is also one of the meals I can make from scratch without a recipe and without measuring cups. Mom taught me how to make this when I was very young. Typically, I serve mine on toast, sometimes mashed potatoes (boxed, pft, who do I look like, Betty Crocker?). Grandma and Grandpa served theirs on Eggos; at dinner.

Thinking about it, I was trying to figure out what else I can make from scratch with little to no assistance.

  • Meatloaf
  • Chicken Noodle Soup (cheater!)
  • Salmon/tuna cakes (though it’s been a while)
  • Pizza (the rise-your-own-dough-kind)
  • Buffalo chicken wing soup
  • Buffalo chicken wing dip
  • Stuffed pepper dip
  • Crock-pot-roast (1 bottle BBQ sauce, 1 bottle stout beer…)

Well, I’m sure there’s more, but we’re working with limited neuron capacity here.

Often, I’ll find a recipe to use as base and will pretty much make it my own…

So, snowed/sleeted/rained in reader(s), what can you make from memory?

Actions

Information

9 responses

22 02 2010
S. Le

I make a lot of things from memory but wouldn’t really call them recipes. I also often use a recipe as a jumping off point and add/switch out ingredients at will.

22 02 2010
Jill

Wow. Things I can make to eat without help from a recipe…. Ummm….

Peanut butter and jelly sandwich
Grilled cheese sandwich
Egg sandwich
Veggie burger
Cereal
French toast (the best in the world!)
Spaghetti (sauce from a jar)

Does stuff like macaroni & cheese out of the box count? I guess it wouldn’t because there are directions on the box… But I can say that I don’t have to look at the pizza box anymore to know the temperature to set the oven to and how long to cook it for 🙂

All I can say it thank goodness for recipe books!

22 02 2010
Becky

Spaghetti sauce, but nowhere near as good as Santasiero’s (they sell take-out), so why bother…chili…meatloaf…sandwiches…but I have to look in the cook book every time to see how long to boil corn on the cob.

23 02 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

I can make various Italian dishes, but they never come out quite the same each time. Also, flapjacks.

23 02 2010
writerdood

Top Ramen!
And then there’s my famous sweet and sour:
http://writerdood.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/trailer-trash-sweet-and-sour/
(You should try it, works with almost any meat, I’m not kidding!)

I can stir fry almost anything.
Just give me some soy sauce, garlic, ginger, onions and a cabbage.

23 02 2010
thedailydish

I am SO HONKIN HUNGRY RIGHT NOW!! Cannot wait for dinner.

While I can make a whole bunch of things from scratch, I usually reference recipes. Does it count that I created most of them?

PS: your buffalo chicken wing recipes sound AMAZING __ ESPECIALLY RIGHT NOW!!! I am STARVING@!!

23 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

dishy, it’d be cold and coagulated by the time it got to Maine 😦

23 02 2010
mr bill

Captain & Mountain Dew….. Nummmmm

24 02 2010
sammy25

I think from memory I could make my mothers spaghetti sauce, a fusilli and lemon sauce dish, chicken steamer (no recipe needed), breaded chicken, roast beef and a few others. Those are my go to dinners! This weekend I will be making spaghetti sauce and freezing it, sloppy joes and freezing it, and a roast beef which I will refridgerate for an early monday/tuesday meal. It’s going to be that kind of weekend!

Leave a Reply

