In the Kitchen with Stephanie

28 01 2010

Last night, upon hearing that we’re going to get socked with about a foot of snow in 24 hours, I decided it was the best time to bake something. Plus, all this talk about kitchen gadgets has got me to hard-crack phase.

And of course, as all chefs know, you need to be dressed appropriately for the job.

IMG_3559

(cowelneckedwaffledknitted sweater, yoga pants and the apron I got for Christmas)

I decided that the victim would be CRUMB CAKE

IMG_3560

4 cups all purpose flour, divided into 1.5cups and 2.5 cups
1 cup white sugar
2.5 tsp baking powder
.5 tsp salt
1 large egg
.5 cup milk
.5 cup brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup butter- melted
2 tbls veggie oil (though, in the directions, it said canola, while the ingredient list said vegetable)
Oven to 375

Mix 1.5 cups flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in one bowl.
In another bowl, wisk the egg, milk, oil and vanilla.
IMG_3566

At this point, I felt it was necessary to show my functional butter-melting microwave.
Also at this point, I was trying to line up the focus grid and realized that the butter had not only melted, it was boiling- as shown here:
IMG_3565

Whoops.

Anyway, mix the flour etc. with the egg etc. and spread into the bottom of a greased pan.
Unless you bake in silicone, in which case, it’s probably already greased.
IMG_3571

After that’s made a mess, mix the remaining 2.5 cups of flour with the brown sugar and cinnamon. Pour the butter over the mix and stir with a spatula (or flatula, depending what you prefer) until large crumbs are formed; a couple minutes.

Bake for however long it takes your oven to ruin things (mine took about 30 minutes because the sides were cooked at 23 minutes, but the center was still all jiggley… must be the silicone)

Stick a cake tester (a.k.a. “toothpick”) into the cake and remove. Your cake is done when nothing sticks to the extracted pick.

VOILA!
IMG_3583

Actions

Information

13 responses

28 01 2010
S. Le

The cake looks SO good! Where’s mine? I’ll furnish my address if you’ll send me one!

Like the apron. V nice!

28 01 2010
nat @ book, line, and sinker

did you get snowed in?!?! my sister got snow up in north jersey but it’s 47 down here at the beach. 🙂

i wanted to tell you that i was watching a cooking show yesterday at my sister’s (no tv at chez cwg, remember!) and rachel ray was using the very garbage bowl that you recently mocked! lol.

xoxo

28 01 2010
daffy

Did Bailey help? Where’s his apron?

28 01 2010
daffy

erm her apron!

28 01 2010
daisyfae

my dog ends up covered in flour whenever i bake. it’s not on purpose. really…

28 01 2010
Jill

Now I’m hungry! That looks sooo yummy 🙂

29 01 2010
Dennis the Vizsla

Only a foot in 24 hours? Are Lakes Erie and Ontario going soft?

Your cake looks yummy!

29 01 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

S.le: I don’t think crumb cake would travel very well… but you know, whatever.

Nat: No, we didn’t get snowed in too bad… it’s just freaking cold out here. Single digit cold. I still can’t feel my cheeks. And I will hit RR with her own garbage bowl if need be.

Daffy: Beans did help, she played the part of floor cleaner.

daisyfae: No, of course not… nothing at all funny about chocos covered with flour… no way… nut-uh.

Jill: Thanks! And, it wasn’t too bad tasting either… a bit bland, but cooked all the way through!

Dennis/Jim: Oh, the lakes are frozen over… cake makes everything better.

29 01 2010
thedailydish

UM – THANKS SO MUCH for making me salivate all over my computer. SHEESH. The least you could have done was make it look AWFUL!! (PS: please send crumb topping stat!) PS: you are too cute in your apron (from The House)

1 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

🙂

The crumb topping needed more cinnamon and sugar. it was good, but I expected more of a coffee-cake-crumb-topping…. then again, I could just eat crumbly topping ALL THE TIME.

29 01 2010
thedailydish

BTW. I put you down for the boobies card. xo!

6 02 2010
fastback ss

I love crumb cake. But you need to succumb and put powdered sugar on top.

Hello…Entemann’s…I’m coming for you today.

8 02 2010
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

And did they welcome you with open arms?

(p.s. Do I know you? *snigger*)

Leave a Reply

