In Which Stephanie Saves Christmas-ish

28 12 2009

At the annual SMS Christmas party, Santa Claus makes one final stop before heading back to the North Pole; the chicken wings keep him in town overnight.

One of the kids insists that he hears bells (the noise for signaling an approaching Santa) and of course all of the other children have an instant reaction and come running into the garage.
And of course, you have to sing REALLY LOUD so Santa can find the house and come in with presents.

"Singing Loud for all to Hear"

While the adults are still drawing straws over who assists Santa this year, the kids are about to explode and we’ve already sung Rudolph and Jingle Bells.
Knowing that Santa’s helper has not yet been coursed (and with a couple of beers under my belt) I suggest that we sing “The 12 Days of Christmas”; being the longest Christmas song I know.

Things are going well.
“… two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree!”, as we sing off-key. “On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, six… um…”
“Six… uh…”
“What’s six?”
“I don’t know!”
“Ladies dancing?”, I suggest.
“NO! Um… GEESE! Six geese a laying!”
And everyone joins back in, “Five golden rings!”
Jumping around, we finish the verse.
“On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me… seven… aw geez…”
The kids look around, confused…
“I’m so sorry. Santa’s going to be late now that I suggested a song and didn’t know all of the words and if he’s not here on time, it’s totally my fault…”*
“‘sokay Stephanie!”
“NEAT! Seven, seven, seven SWANS A SWIMMING!”
We finish that verse and thank goodness Santa shows up.

* Knowing very well that the adults have finally stopped fighting over who was going to swallow their pride this year but preparing takes time.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 12 2009
daisyfae

this sounds like fun! maybe next year? play the soundtrack and you can dance it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSedhEoutP0

28 12 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

o.m.g.

I only wish I had half those moves in my bag… though, that does give me all year to train the youngins.

Leave a Reply

