ShoeGate: Fall/Winter Edition

17 11 2009

Dear Universe,

What is it with you, me and shoes? First it was SummerShoeGate and now this.
No, seriously.
I need to know.

You send me a great idea (“You should look into a shoe that you can walk on all day, that’s not a sneaker and has a heel… You know, so you don’t look TOTALLY like a tourist when you go to Europe.”) and plenty of time in which to meet the objective.
HOWEVER, you’re the one who is slacking as I’ve held up my part of the deal. For the past 3+ months, I have been braving the megamall, the local mall, teh internets*, Marshalls/TJ Maxx…

Yesterday, you threw me a bone.
A pair of highly-rated shoes, within my range, in my size, in the agreed upon color.
So, I broke out the plastic and with free standard shipping (3-5 business days) and we were cooking with gas.
The shoes even shipped the SAME DAY!
ELATION!
Until you decided that 5 days was a loose estimate and it was more like a week-and-a-half.

So now, I have a week-and-a-half of wondering if I should just try to find something local or bank on the unknown.

WHY DO YOU HATE ME?!

* dsw.com, shoes.com, endless.com, 6pm.com, variousothershoesites.com, wayoutofmypricerangebutitsanimportantpurchase.com

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 11 2009
S. Le

Shoe addiction is a hard mistress, especially with delayed shipping. You may have to browse catalogues until your fix arrives. Bonne chance!

17 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

bbuuuttt wwwwaaaaaa!!!

17 11 2009
thegnukid

Dear Stephanie,
I’m just trying to teach you patience and see if you really trust me. The shoes will be superb, count on it. If not, which I sincerely doubt, feel free to spank my universal butt.
Warm Regards,
The Universe

17 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

dearest universe,
that whole proposition sounds awfully “brier rabbit”… pray tell, what is the difference between “ass kicking” and “spanking”?
Love,
Stephanie

p.s.
F you and your testing. You’re a dick.

17 11 2009
thegnukid

Dear Stephanie,
“ass kicking” isn’t fun for me. “spanking” may be fun for both of us.
and if i’m a dick, i’m a universally lovable dick.
Love and Such,
The Universe
p.s. the shoes WILL rock

18 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Silly me!
Who doesn’t love dick?!

17 11 2009
that girl

Shoooooooooes! Perhaps one of my favorite topics besides music. Have you tried Zappos.com? That’s some fast shipping. Perhaps that is the site dubbed wayoutofmypricerangebutitsanimportantpurchase.com?

What did you find? I’m always in search of a good shoe!

17 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

zappos was TWICE the cost of Endless… VIP shipping or not, there’s no way I was spending $100 on a pair of shoes… unless they spanked me.

I gambled on a pair of Clarks “Fia”… they were marked as “clearance” but whatever… they came so highly reviewed that I figured they’d better work.

17 11 2009
hisqueen

well… that is just not a nice response to the Universe…Must you bring up shoe shopping at the same time I am browsing for new winter boots. The problem with boots is that you either get them cheap and they don’t keep you warm or you pay out the yingyang and they are warm. Plus the whole issue of heel or no heel. Since I have dogs the prospect of wearing a heel outside for their walks is just plain craziness. I’m basically calling out to the world, “here I am now break my leg”

take pics of your new fabulous shoes.

17 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

you are me from last year… walking over half a mile a day (uphill in snow) to get to work forced me to purchase a good boot.
Plus, the snowblowing and dog walking… I found these last year and while not highly fashionalbe, they’re highly functional: http://www.famousfootwear.com/Shopping/ProductDetails.aspx?p=74527&pg=1016591

Leave a Reply

