Yer Not the Ocean

6 11 2009

I love this band.
It’s not just songs, it’s a stories…
“..You are just a lake, made to take and take and take and take. You’re not the ocean, I’m standing on my toes. You’re not the ocean, you’re not even close. You’re not the ocean, you’re up to my chin. You’re the ocean, you’re not coming in. You’re not coming in.”

Steve saw it one way, I saw it as “You think you are all that and a bag of chips, but you know what? You’re not. Oh, you think you can own me, but you got another thing coming… I’m in charge of this situation…”

I also love this song…. “Everyone’s got their breaking point, with me it’s spiders, and with you, it’s me.”

Oh, and you want a spooky true story about a prison break? “Spent so much time away from the world, he’s 38 years old, never kissed a girl.”, “A tap on the window in the middle of the night, held back the curtains for my older brother Mike.”

And I think this one is from the last show we went to, where my boyfriend Molson and I did not get along… “A generation so much dumber than it’s parents”

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 11 2009
thedailydish

I’ve heard of the Tragically Hip – not sure I’ve ever heard their music though.. must mean I am tragically unhip. sigh…

6 11 2009
Melissa

Someone is very, very excited about the show today, huh?
and then again in Europe this month, you are on a Hip bender, arent you?

6 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

that ride never stops.

7 11 2009
thegnukid

music speaks to us all. but, like that (trite?) saying, it’s all dependent on the person: “I don’t know art, but I know what I like!” I’m glad you’ve found something you can relate to and enjoy. now to go to my iPod “Slit My Wrist” playlist and have a good cry…

8 11 2009
Tony

I’m just a lake???
Isn’t that Rickki’s song

Leave a Reply

