Waxing Introspective

3 11 2009

Since Grandpa passed away, I have been spending WAY too much time thinking.
Like WAY too much time.
Thinking about things that I can’t control, things I can’t change, things I can change but have not yet had the opportunity to…

Of course, there’s that screaming noise in the back of my head which sounds a lot like a ticking… like a clock.. say, a biological clock.
Now now, I know I’m nowhere near That Age, however, we’ve both agreed that we don’t want to have to show in up wheelchairs to our kids high school graduations. (unless it’s from broken pelvises in which case, we’re awesome)
Related, I’ve been thinking about how I was raised, how Steve was raised, how Mom and Dad were raised, how Grandma and Grandpa were raised and how I watch other people raise their kids.

There is plenty of potential to screw up.
Big time.

Lately, I’ve been overthinking coddling.
Former co-worker used to spend a great deal of her day on the phone, trying to correct her adult son’s missteps.
Some lady at the store took things the other way and basically toted her screaming 3-year-old on her hip around the grocery, not paying any mind.
My mom sympathizes with my toils and troubles and always wishes there was something she could do.
Steve played hockey on a chipped knee bone because SMS said it built character.
Grandpa was very here’s-the-rules-and-that’s-that.
My dad was “Stephanie Ann, if you (insert behavior here) again, I will (insert form of punishment).” and I would and he would.
Charlotte picks up baby Teppo whenever he cries, while daddy Teppo subscribes to the “he’s fine, let him cry”.

Is The Eventual going to end up on a comfy sofa claiming that his/her mom coddled her and that’s why he/she is constantly stuck in horrible relationship?
Or will he/she be a cutter because dad was too hard on him/her?

Ugh.

Perhaps focusing on how Not-Mullet-Trainer worked me over will divert my attention… if you will excuse me, I can’t feel my butt.

Actions

Information

10 responses

3 11 2009
stacy310

Ant likes to say that “people raised babies in cages!” This makes me think that he will NOT be a coddler.

No one is perfect. And no one knows what the hell they are doing, at least at first.

Oh – and you can’t figure out everything in advance. You just have to go with the flow. My control issues are rebelling. Big time.

I wonder if I need to go to a couch somewhere to discuss the origin of my control issues.

3 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I have this feeling that Ant and Steve would probably get along splendidly.

3 11 2009
stacy310

OMG. Not “cages” – “CAVES” haha. That was a funny typo.

3 11 2009
S. Le

Children build character! They also give one grey hair and ulsers. They are truly a joy and a challenge. Mine turned out very well thank you!

You must have “blogger’s butt.” Walk out to the kitchen, get a coffee, and then sit down again. Repeat as often as necessary.

3 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Oh, I have new-trainer-who-doesn’t-have-a-mullet-and-isn’t-as-fodder-worthy-as-I-thought butt.
Namely from doing every-other-stair with 8lbs in each hand three times, 135lb leg presses, stairs, presses, again with the stairs, presses, lunges, squats, stairs, lunges, squats, squats, lunges… meh, you get the picture. In fact, I’m afraid to get up in fear that I will fall over in pain.

3 11 2009
Curlywurlygurly

Dude…know this: parenthood is trial by fire! There is no handbook and the only thing you CAN be sure of is that at some point you’ll screw up. But that’s all part of parenting. It will be fun!!!!

xoxo

4 11 2009
hisqueen

yep …what Curly said. I screwed up 2 already with plenty of help from my ex..am having great success with my Stepson so we are trying for another..even after I told you guys that I wouldn’t have anymore. I think alot has to do with the person you are with. We both said at the same time that we wanted another baby. Then we spent/spend plenty of time talking about if we should and how hard it will be at our ages. but the ending result is always the same. Lets have a baby together

4 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

weeee! another vicarious for us baby-free to gush over!

4 11 2009
thedailydish

Don’t worry. once they have their own, your kids will practically raise themselves.

5 11 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

perhaps the most encouraging thing I’ve heard 🙂

Leave a Reply

