13 10 2009

Pros:
I get to see mom and dad.
Maybe it’s still peak foliage time in the mid-west…

Con:
My grandfather passed this morning.

Grandpa was quite the shutterbug, so I enjoyed sending him photos, especially with the awesome hardware. I just placed an order with doubles and triples to send over…

Memory:
Grandpa was a traveler. When he’d come to visit, he’d pretend to put curses on my friends and me. Chanting and waving his hands, he’d mumbo-jumbo and declare we were cursed!
BUT
He had the only remedy known to man!
Reaching into his pocket, he’d pull out a roll of LifeSaver Candies, insisting that we partake; the only way to break the curse.

in case they dont have Life Savers in your neck of the woods...

in case they don't have Life Savers in your neck of the woods...

Actions

Information

12 responses

13 10 2009
S. Le

So sorry to hear about your Grand dad! My sympathies to you. You have wonderful memories of him. Life savors are truly a brilliant remedy to most childhood maladies.

13 10 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Thanks for your sympathies.
Trying REALLY HARD to focus on the good times rather then that dull, crushing pain in my chest.

13 10 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Is there anything Life Savers can’t do? Sorry about your grandpa. I still miss mine ten years on.

13 10 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Well, that’s a loaded question today, isn’t it?
(add smirk here to show that it’s not taken in the wrong context)

13 10 2009
daisyfae

sounds as though he was a delightful grampa… take care… bring life savers. there will be a lot of sad people there…

13 10 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I was strongly considering a run into the drugstore to pick up a roll, but then I’d have to explain why I was bawling in the middle of RiteAid.

13 10 2009
hisqueen

Grandpa’s are such wonderful people. I miss mine still. He was a wonderful, caring man.
I think you should stock up on LifeSavers also. You could really help others remember all the wonderful things about him while you’re there. It would be nice to remember the joy he gave rather than the sorrow of the day.
I think you should request an extra hug from Steve, from all of us to you…

13 10 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

funny you should say that… when my parents called, they said, “Hopefully Steve can comfort you.”
“He left for work 15 minutes ago.”
“I knew we should have called earlier.”

13 10 2009
Connie

(((Hugs))) My sincerest sympathies for your loss. May you find great comfort in the wonderful memories you have of him!

13 10 2009
Melissa

Love you, and I’m here for you when you need me.

13 10 2009
Becky

Sorry for your loss.

My grandfather always had those butterscotch hard candies 🙂

13 10 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

*hugs* i’m so sorry about your grandfather. 😦 it’s wonderful that you had so many years to share with him but i’m sorry that you have to go through this difficult time.

i’m thinking of you!!!

xoxoxo
natalie

Leave a Reply

