Just Venting

23 09 2009

Preface: Not looking for answers or sympathy, just need to vent. Besides,  I know the answer is “You can’t please all the people all of the time”

Did you hear that?

Did you hear that?

Let’s back this truck up to about two weeks ago.
Wait, no, spring…
Okay, so, in spring I was forced recommenced asked to run the office’s picnic.
September:  food procured, door prizes (I didn’t understand either) obtained , things to keep kids occupied (as per recommendation of planners past) purchased, beer chilled… I thought the party was a success. Plus, I came in [$0.92] under budget. Woot for me.
Receipts in hand, I get the fifth degree about how my budget was spent and on what and what was the cost per person… meanwhile, the conversation in the back of my head was something along the lines of, “If you gave me $X to spend and I spent $X and everyone had a good time and now it’s an issue, why did you give me a budget?”

Flash forward to this week.
Another hat I wear is Team Leader of the Fitness Force for our office. Basically, I just send information into corporate. It’s a cake gig. Har.
My team met the obligation for a company sponsored lunch.
I sent out the follow to my team:
“…It’s looking like we will be ordering in as teams will be on a conference call. Keeping in the spirit of the Fitness Force, I’m thinking we shouldn’t order a loaded pizza…”
Everyone agreed. Then I get the message from Corporate; in response to “what are we planning on doing?”:
“…
We’re ordering out – pizza, I think….”
To which I reply:
“…
That’s kind of funny because I told my team that we are specifically NOT ordering a pizza, being Fitness Force and all…”
So I propose to my team:
… is supposedly ordering pizza; to which I replied that it’s kind of defeating the purpose… anyway, so, it looks like we can order a pizza if we want.
Unless we’d like to buck the trend and show them how it’s done … figuring out what we can do for the price of a pizza.
Option 1) Get a pizza anyway
Option 2) See about ordering a “healthy” crust and veggies instead of processed meat
Option 3) I pick up some whole wheat pita pockets, lettuce, deli turkey/chicken, “healthy” cheese and some Italian dressing.”

Then, the dreaded REPLY ALL.
Option 3 sounds good… with a soup…
Option 3 with a mixed salad or a fresh fruit platter..

Whow. Hold your horses here.
First of all, the whole idea was simply to NOT have a pizza; and now I’m stuck with an entire spread?
Plus, enough pie [for 5] with delivery is about $20-25… and we’re looking at a full-custom lunch? I’m a savvy shopper, but really?

Pronoun does a REPLY ALL and says we could all chip in for sides. Mind you, this is the same person who didn’t know if they could bring chip and/or bowls for her side to the aforementioned picnic.
Co-Worker Who Never Worries About Money states to buy whatever and they’ll make up the difference. Mind you, this is the same person who chided my picnic for not having shrimp and/or sushi.

Crimeanitley people, can’t you just be happy with a free lunch?

No wonder no one wants to run ANYTHING here.

P.S. I’m totally #1 on Fitness Force, almost two trackers above everyone else.

Actions

Information

12 responses

23 09 2009
hisqueen

you are # 1….always…don’t let anyone tell you otherwise..Just ask Steve..(though there may be a bit of competion with Bailey, depending on how cool she was today.)

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

awwww, thanks… Bailey was kind of a jerk yesterday and our anniversary is tomorrow so I think my stock moved up.

23 09 2009
morethananelectrician

This is where I crap in someone’s pita.

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

At least it’d be organic.

23 09 2009
Becky

Like the tags!

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

They’re like their own punchlines.

23 09 2009
that girl

If you were looking for answers, which you clearly stated you weren’t, I’d suggest that you order a party sub and make them eat that. But you didn’t ask me. 😉

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

hmmmm… there IS a Subway down the street….

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

As one who strives for perfection, it’s frustrating. But then again, I tell myself if that’s the worst thing they can find, it must not be that bad.
lol at your drunken christmas party.

24 09 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

TANSTAAFL

24 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

(thank goodness for google)

YES, you’re right… but, if they keep this up, when my head spins, there’ll be pea soup for everyone.

29 09 2009
Blurps « please, stop bouncing

[…] Last week, I discussed The Lunch Fiasco. Yesterday, I sent out an email making sure no one has any allergies and I stated, “I need […]

Leave a Reply

