Camping

20 09 2009

A couple of times a year, we like to go camping… wilderness recharges me.
Okay, I lied… sitting around all weekend, drinking beer, taking naps, hiking and eating recharges my batteries.
Steve and the Gentlemen’s Club go up on Thursday morning, the females come up Friday after work.

Bailey likes it because she gets to hang out with her boyfriend, Jack.

ball

We tend to stay on the same trail every year which is great because it’s rather secluded and with the creek, the dogs are very happy.
This time we only went though two sleeves of tennis balls, which I’m pretty sure is a record for the LEAST amount of tennis balls consumed on a weekend.

Just being outside turns Bailey into a ball of energy.
fwhirlwind 

And something tells me there was something going on Thursday night…  I mean, besides floating a keg and smoking cigars.
deliverance
I think Steve heard banjos.

Bailey’s pretty excited until the sun sets, then she’s toast.
seepybeans 
(all above photos courtesy of Steve)

On Friday night, Melissa, “Charlotte” and I drove up, of course stopping to fill our growlers (read: 1/2 gallon) with DELICOUS Ellicottvile Brewing Company’s Oktoberfest.
YUM.

And Friday night also brings another tradition.
Fire Pong.
Oh, yes, it’s exactly how it sounds; beer pong played on something that’s a flame.
firedoor1
This year, “Teppo” replaced his front door (which was a fire door) and pong was played on that.
Meanwhile, I was content to finish my growler.
firedoor2
Don’t worry, after previewing this photo, I had the lantern removed from the door.
To the right and left you can see the playing cups which were melting and marshmallows were placed on the door to see if they would cook.
They did.

Also while camping, we eat like kings. And queens.
eatlikekings

Saturday night is pretty low key, everyone’s pretty mellow from hiking and what not.
Even doggies are ready for bed.
puppies
Forbid if 175 of Labrador sleep anywhere but right under my feet.

How was your weekend?

Actions

Information

13 responses

20 09 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I’m so lame, I had to Google “beer pong” because I didn’t know what it was!

20 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Beh… Beer pong isn’t my cup of tea. I don’t need a reason to drink. Plus, it’s along the lines of “sport” so that’s a no-go.

21 09 2009
Tony

Looks like a good time was had by all, Bailey looks tuckered out in the chair after all that exercise

21 09 2009
Tony

Yep, I’m lame too so don’t feel bad Dennis/James. I am now filled with info from the Wikipedia/Oracle of all knowledge

21 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

That wiki article was totally overwhelming…. our rules are much simpler and with less precision.

21 09 2009
Melissa

Ow. I fell off a rock.

21 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

That you did.

21 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

P.S.
Could Saturday’s tummyache have come from cheap-ass blackberry merlot? I think so.

21 09 2009
Melissa

You do have that wine-thing happening. No more wine for Stephanie, we’re sticking to hard liquor and good beer from now on.

Speaking of hard liquor, I have the remains of the Pom vodka in my trunk.

Driving with Nad is fun, by the way.

“Look at that cemetery. Know who’s buried there?”
“Um, no”.
“Slayer”

“Mel, see this cemetery? know who’s buried there?”
“Slayer?”
“No, silly, I already told you where Slayer was buried. It’s Sepultura”.

“Hey, check out this cemetey. Know who’s buried there?”
“Um, Primus?”
“No. Slayer. I lied to you earlier.”

21 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

*in rock voice* slayyyyeaaaaa!

21 09 2009
S. Le

The food looks fab! Sounds like you had loads of fun as well. I spent Saturday working at Library all day and Sunday at a family picnic coughing and blowing my nose. Yes I do still have a cold. Last night I made party favours and wrapped gifts for the coming weekend’s baby shower.

21 09 2009
daisyfae

fire pong. LOVE it!

21 09 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

leave it to a group of engineers, doctors and social workers to figure out that beer pong is more exciting if it’s set on fire.
Dammit, wish I knew were I put the photo of The Beeramyd. (think beer pong, stacked)

Leave a Reply

