Piece de la Assistance

19 07 2009

Okay, remember that time that I saved your cat from that house fire?
Or when I posed as you and Vinny “Knuckles” broke my leg instead of yours?
Or when I helped you dump that body into the lake…
Well now, I’m asking for a favor from YOU.

Saturday, I participated in the Worldwide Photo Walk. Out of 100 photos, about 25 were usable (being that they weren’t too washed out/crooked/blurry/etc.) and there are a couple I am thinking of entering.
Problem(s) is/are: I can only enter two photos and my laptop’s LCD is silly and I can’t seem to view the photos in any kind of “true” viewing. (yes,I’ve futzed with the screen contrast)
So, here are the photos I like, you tell me which ones you like and whichever gets the most vote(s) will be sent in. I have to submit by the 25th, so, by Thursday, I’ll stop counting votes.

Building #1

Building #1 (photo ID 23)

Building #2

Building #2 (Photo ID24)

Demolition #1 (Photo ID 18)

Demolition #2 (Photo ID 17)

Demolition #2 (Photo ID 17)

Mandatory Flower (Photo ID 82)

And the whole lot of [non-blurry, less wrong] photos is here. You know, in case there’s something that I was all “meh.” about and you are all “Neat!” about.

P.S.
With the exception of cropping and rotating, I don’t use any photo-altering-software.

Actions

Information

18 responses

19 07 2009
Becky

Thursday? I haven’t even downloaded the pictures yet much less set up a flickr account, although I think they looked a lot better in person than on the camera.

I think you may have been near me at the start of the walk although I wandered off on a different “route” with 3 others shortly after…I’m going to attempt to chart it later.

#2, although I really like the mandatory flower shot too (2 submissions allowed after all).

20 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

hmmm…. According the the official site, I thought you had to upload by this Saturday to be in contention. But then again, it could be those selective reading skills.

Did you end up with the Tripod People?
There were four of us (Steve, his cousin, her friend and I) who stuck together once we got to um… Betty’s?
It appears that my choice of ensemble was better in my head as I looked like I was hacked at the knees… long jean shorts and a black v-neck top; if that helps.

According to one of our group members, we walked over 6 miles.

20 07 2009
Becky

No tripod people – whipped around them right away – all point and shoot 🙂 It was myself and 3 other women wandering around on our own trail. We headed up Mariner fairly soon and a few guys were nearby, but then we lost them somewhere around Kleinhans.

20 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Was it just me, or did it seem like some people had acted as though they had never seen Klienhans before?
THE HYSTERIA!!!
Well good, now I don’t feel so bad for refering to them as “The Crazy Tripod People” in which some of their ‘pods were as tall as me.

19 07 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I like #24, and also #82.

20 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Yeah, 24 seems to be popular…

19 07 2009
Becky

This person was on the photowalk too – definitely enhances, unless my camera card just doesn’t get all that color saturated:

Woof
20 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

pfftt, silly HDR shooting… it’s some after effect… I personally don’t prefer to manipulate my photos, it feels, weird.

I don’t recall there being a Greg in our group. We joined up with a Tim and Tom and a guy from Nickel City Studios…

20 07 2009
Becky

I decided that I don’t like any of my pictures in a photo contest type of way. I wonder if anyone “cheats” by going back to get a better shot, like today? I’m not going to, but it crossed my mind 🙂

23 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I should hope people aren’t cheating, but I think you and I know better…

20 07 2009
Melissa

ID #23 – great photo!

21 07 2009
thedailydish

NUMBER 1! NUMBER 1!

Good luck Bouncy babe!!

21 07 2009
connie

Woohoo, good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I personally LOVE straight out of the camera shots! I wondered for the longest if my pictures were mediocre compared to some and then I discovered that they were “cheating” (I am slow that way) I think altering has its purposes but it seems dishonest 🙂
I crop my pictures and take out occasional red eyes and that is it.

21 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Ekk.
Gotta admit… saw some of the local photos, and while a number of them were doctored, they were decent.
Worldwide, the photos are REALLY good.
Though, I think The Mister would be disappointed if I decided this photo thing wasn’t for me and I can’t let one contest define it for me.
I am still going to enter and whatever, I mean, I JUST learned how to use my camera, it’d be silly of me to expect to have the best photos.
BTW, here’s the flickr Buffalo pool: http://www.flickr.com/groups/buffalophotowalk/
And the international pool: http://www.flickr.com/groups/skphoto/

22 07 2009
S. Le

They are all lovely but I voted for building #2 as did 6 other people so far.

I’m hoping to look at the rest of the lot later.

22 07 2009
daffy

Nice pics Bouncy! I liked No 2 *snigger* and the last one… went for No 2 *snigger* on the vote! Good work!

23 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Who’s blond? Oh, yeah, this girl… It took me like, 10 minutes to figure out was so funny…

25 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Thanks for the input everyone!
I have decided to enter Building #2 and Demolition #2…

Fingers crossed

Leave a Reply

