Food Co-Habitation

15 07 2009
If food scares you, you may just want to go over here.

For those of you still around, I’m thinking of making shrimp kabobs tonight. Though, the shrimp will be lovingly smeared with ginger-chili-sauce.
Meanwhile, over at not martha, there was an ask metafilter about weird food parings… which lead me to seriouseats, which made me think of weird food combinations that I like.I.E.
* French fries dipped in a vanilla shake
* Ham sandwich with mustard and animal crackers
* Clamatao juice, hot sauce and light beer
* Celery and peanut better
* Celery and cream cheese
* Peanut butter and honey sandwich
* PMS Sundae (vanilla ice cream, fruit loops, chocolate syrup, beer)
* Macaroni and cheese with ketchup
* Cantalope with salt
* Cottage cheese and apple butter
* Bacon and mayo on toast
* Fritos on a ham sammy
* Cherrios and grape juice (okay, that’s just because I was three and couldn’t reach the milk and my babysitter was passed out on the sofa.)

Do tell reader(s), what odd food parings tickle your pallet?

Actions

Information

20 responses

15 07 2009
stacy

Celery and peanut butter are not gross. Everything else – ICK ICK ICK.

I don’t have ANY food combos that beat yours.

15 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

oh. guess I’m not cooking for you then…

15 07 2009
stacy

You can make me shrimp kabobs with ginger-chili sauce whenever you’d like 🙂

16 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Sadly, they came out pretty awful.
And that was AFTER I found the yellow jacket nest in the grill.

15 07 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

ha! i was just reading not martha and admiring the window stickers.

as for weird pairings…i put ketchup on my mac&cheese (kraft)

i love fritos on my pb&j

i’m a freak, ’tis true.

15 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

see, now I figured you to be the first to high-tail it out of here seeing as you’re afraid of pepper.

15 07 2009
connie

the ham sandwich with mustard and animal crackers freaks me out a bit!
I do like canteloupe with salt, celery with cream cheese.
I like onions on just about everything.
olives and feta cheese in my salad 🙂

15 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Oh, you know what, I forgot to mention that the ham-ninal sammy had mayo on it… that’s probably why it seemed weird!
Olives and feta in salad is the stuff dreams are made of…

15 07 2009
mstngsal22

Hi! I haven’t made it here much, but plan to – what a fun post! The PMS sundae? Classic. And I love fries in the shake – been there. Hmmm, for me? …I love potato chips on any sandwich, but my weirdest has to be popcorn in my soup – I scoop it out before all the pieces get sogged and it’s heaven, baby. Oh! I just noticed Smitten Kitchen on your sidebar – I’ve been reading that for-ever and it’s my favorite recipe site – chorizo spinach soup – holy god. One of the best foodie sites on the web imo. See? I knew we’d get along.

16 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Yippee!
See, and all it took was your moving to my birth country (although I was only there for six months, but whatevs)
Now the popcorn thing, does that go for any soup? Broths? Creams?

*scribble scribble* chorizo spinach soup *scribble*

17 07 2009
mstngsal22

NO – my lord no – not ANY soup – chicken noodle is my fav, or any chicken broth based soup but I will accept a beef broth based in a pinch. You are a German citizen?? You fascinate me!

15 07 2009
Melissa

I love a grilled cheese two ways
1. dipped in ketchup
2. with chocolate chips

weirds people out all the time.

Also- I do not eat a peanut butter & jelly sandwich unless it is stuffed with cape cod potato chips.

I also like jelly on an egg sandwhich. my husband thinks that is the grossest thing ever. Of course he doesn’t eat egg either…

16 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I can understand the ketchup thing… chocolate chips? That’s a new one…
Forgot all about grape jelly egg sammies, sounds like I know what I’m having this weekend!

15 07 2009
daisyfae

used to eat salted cantalope… forgot about that. oh, and potato chips and vanilla ice cream is like fries and vanilla shake! Yum! may skip your PMS sandwich, though…

16 07 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Wait … why was your babysitter passed out on the couch? Had she gotten into the Clamato and beer?

16 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

lol.
Actually, yes.
M&D claim she threw one hell of a party and when they came home, she was blotto on the sofa.
I do believe her friends also stole some of my parents vinyl records too.
Winner, she was.

16 07 2009
Becky

Seems to me that clamato, hot sauce, and beer used to have an official bar name, but I can’t remember what it was.

Bacon & mayo on toast is only missing the lettuce and tomato. I used to eat it the opposite way when I was too lazy to fry the bacon.

16 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Yeah, mom told me what it was called, but, wait! Google!
Michelada
Ah, there it is!

16 07 2009
Tony

I really love Peanut butter and honey sandwiches
I also like vegemite & cheese as well as jam & cheese sandwiches too

17 07 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Have to say, never tried vegemite… more out of inaccessibility than anything else.

Leave a Reply

