thirty, divided by three equals?

24 06 2009

Well, things went well last night.
There wasn’t a catfight, much to the sadness of my readers, I know…

Instead… over dinner
SMS: So, what do you want for your birthday?
me: Well, are we starting from scratch or have you started shopping?
SMS: Let’s say we’re starting from scratch.
me: OH! A Bike!
SMS: A bike?
me: Yeah, I think I would like a bike.
SMS: I was going to get you a bike, but I didn’t know what kind you wanted. Okay, we can head to Dick’s.*
me: SWEET!
SMS: Let’s say we’re NOT starting from scratch…
me: Um, well, a summer comforter for the bed, some clothes, maybe some kitchen gadget, a make-up consultation.
SMS: Ummmm hmmmmm.

While at Dick’s, the sales guy asks me what kind of riding I do.
It is then that it occurs me me that my last bike was a Huffy. Not that there’s anything wrong with the fine products from  Huffy, but I’m pretty sure that I pedaled backward to stop.
A couple of very wobbly trips around the store (“Look out! Bike rider in heels! Coming through!”), we agree upon the DiamondBack Vital 2.

What? No streamers, racoon tails, basket or cards in the spokes?

What? No streamers, racoon tails, basket or cards in the spokes?

We end up having to go tot the other end of the mall and in doing so, we pass Build-a-Bear.
“Mom! Can we build a bear?! MOM! Can we build a bear?!”, I mockingly ask.
And the next thing I know, she’s telling me to pick out a toy. “You know I was kidding right?” I say.
“Pick. Out. A. Toy.”
“Yes mam.”
Well, when everything was said and done, I ended up with a teddy bear.

Tres Zee (though mine is missing pants)

Tres Zee (though mine is bare bottomed, get it?)

We named him “Tres Zee”; for thirty, get it?!?! And he sings happy birthday. If anyone else is on buildabearville.com, let me know, we can be beary friends!

Part of me feels silly, “I got a BIKE! and a TEDDY BEAR for my birthday!!!” and part of me is like, “I am helping the environment and economy by purchasing a bicycle and a portion of Tres’ purchase is going to help sick kids. AWESOME!”

Worth mention: We had one drink a piece.

* Note: Dick’s Sporting Goods. Also note, dickssportinggoods.com, not dicks.com. One has things for watersports while the other features watersports. Just saying.

Actions

Information

10 responses

24 06 2009
stacy

Um, I went to dicks.com once looking for something for spinning class (a cover for that horribly uncomfortable seat). It was not pretty.

24 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

har har har, that’s what HE said, har har har

24 06 2009
morethananelectrician

“…a make-up consultation”

This comment is almost enough to Amy Fischer on someone…

For obvious reasons, I am leaving the rest of this post alone…

24 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

well, seeing as I’ve really learned HOW to apply make-up, I figure that the time is neigh.

24 06 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

coooooool bday gifts!!!!!!!!!!!!! my bday is ALSO coming up. 🙂 i have a green and silver bike with a wicker basket AND a bell. that’s how cool i am. ahahah.

24 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

fine Nat! I’ll meet you at the flag pole at three!

24 06 2009
pannonica

May I suggest fenders/mud flaps for your new bicycle?

24 06 2009
Hayden Tompkins

YES. BUILD-A-BEAR. I AM IN AWE OF YOUR AWESOME.

Happy Birthday!!!!!!! 🙂

24 06 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Hmm, I’m still not sure which web site is which …

You should strap Teddy to the handlebars and you can go riding together!

25 06 2009
connie

Love the bike and the bear! Haappy Birthdayyyyyy!!!

Leave a Reply

