“It’s be better for us if you don’t understand…”

8 06 2009

Ugh.
Monday.
You ever have those weekends where it seems like even though you get a (seemingly) lot done, you look back and you’re like, “WTF! It’s Monday? Again?!”

Friday things started innocently enough.
Steve decided to clean the garage and was finishing up when I got home. I took a scraper to the frame of the garage; which has been bubbling/peeling for the better part of a few years.
At this point, we decided that we should just replace the whole frame, seeing as the other side had unfortunate run-ins with the lawn mower. Yeah, don’t know who would have done that…. hmmm…
After dinner found me with a FANTASTIC headache and I was out for the count by 9.
Party up at Casa Mak!

Saturday found me springing out of bed at five-to-ten because our ride was going to arrive at ten-thirty.
“Yeah, I was just watching the clock… it was getting later and later…”, he casually mentions as he stretches and gets out of bed.
Our ride arrived late, which wasn’t a big deal, seeing as the show wasn’t slated to start until 8pm anyway.
(see, there’s a “no tailgating” rule, so you show up wicked early, claim some lawn and lawn-tail-gate.)
Things were going along swimmingly, I was having a lovely time soaking up the vitamin D, nomming on a sub, having some Molson and a darn good time, as evident by Exhibit A:

Exhibits B and C have been burned eaten by the dog erased from the memory card as I’m sure PETA would have been up in our shit about beaching whales.
Let’s just say, had I been served drinks (rather than opening the cans and pouring them myself) I probably would have sent my cup to the lab.
I was feeling good, went to pee, came back and instantly did not feel Very Good At All.
Skipping the embarrassing details (at  least it wasn’t a spectacle) and two songs in, I was back in top condition.
Oh, right, here I’ve been going on and on about this event and I haven’t told you what it was.

We went to see Tragically Hip!
Granted this isn’t from our show or the new CD, but it’s one of my favorites.
(The Hip is very popular in this area… they sold out four nights at a local outdoor amphitheater and something like six days in Toronto)
Seriously, I can not tell you how many times I’ve seen The Hip, but we’re seriously talking about 20.
No. Really.

Sunday found Steve having better days.
‘lissa and I had coffee and breakfast, I went grocery shopping, finished my laundry and by 10, I was ready to punch out.

So, here’s my question.
Think of a band that you really like, but they’re obscure… you have no more than three songs to play for someone who has never heard of the band before.
What (up to three) song(s) do you play for them and why?

Actions

Information

13 responses

8 06 2009
sas

love the pic!

so Billy Bragg is semi-obscure London singer-songwriter.
i have loved him since i was 17.

I would play:
Must I Paint You a Picture
The Great Leap Forwards
Valentines Day is Over

poetry 🙂

8 06 2009
daisyfae

LOVE Billy! You picked the right three – but i adore “Walk Away Renee!”

9 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

As in “Don’t walk away renee somethingsomething something”?

8 06 2009
stacy310

I don’t think you look “your age.” I just think you look cute.

(Says the girl who seriously gets carded at the RACINO in Hamburg).

8 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

The point was that I thought I looked closer to 30 then my usual closer-to-20…
Must be the Blossom hat.

8 06 2009
Hayden Tompkins

This is hard. HARD! I can’t even decide on a band.

8 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Well, you COULD choose a few bands… since when am I against multiple comment postings?

8 06 2009
daisyfae

the only obscure thing i’m listening to at the moment? Chenille Sisters. i’d have to play “Seduced”, “mama, i wanna make rhythm” and “big hair”… they’re an acquired tast…

9 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I’m looking to expand my musical repertoire and acquired tastes are of interest.

8 06 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I choose the band Texas and I play “Black-Eyed Boy”, “Careful What You Wish For”, and “Saint”, to give the person a feel for three of the different genres Texas works in. (If I could play four songs, the fourth would be “I Want To Go To Heaven” to get some blues in there too.)

9 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

you gots to do what you gots to do…

9 06 2009
morethananelectrician

If you can start and finish cleaning your garage in one day…it really wasn’t too dirty to begin with.

9 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I think he was bored… that OCD thing kicks in once in a while and he feels the need to organize the rakes by size.

Leave a Reply

