The Bygones of Fashion; “fashion” being loosely used (Cross-Town Posting)

27 05 2009

(Oh CWG, there is nothing that a ten-foot pole couldn’t touch)

My parallel universe sister, Nat, brought up quite an interesting post this morning: The Fashion Faux Pas.

Mullet (thanks mom!)
Bowl cut
$10 silk shirts from G&G
Neon bike shorts
“Goth”

My crushed velvet shirt is as black as my soul

My crushed velvet shirt is as black as my soul

Lace bottomed leggings

Banana clips
Charm sweaters

Open shoulder body suits

Flannel (lots and lots of flannel)

Flannel hat, overshirt, boxers and shoes. Becuse it was April in Florida.

Flannel hat, overshirt, boxers and shoes. Becuse it was April in Florida.

Bucket Hats (a la Blossom)
Homemade embroidery floss necklaces
Thrift store clothing

thrift

Oversized men's Bugle Boy sweater with jeans that probably weren't mine

Taper legged jeans
Pinning turtlenecks
Big Bangs (yes Al Gore, I know I expanded a hole in the ozone)
Dying my hair with Manic Panic/Kool-aid/markers

Because neon yello/orange is natural

Because neon yellow/orange is natural

Things other people wear that bother me:
Flip-flops in the office
White athletic style socks with dress shoes (and I did it  because I didn’t know any better)
Bottoms where you can see the wearers underpants pattern
Sweatpants with slogans on the butt
Mesh shoes (the ones that just cover the tips of your toes)
Velvet sweatsuits

Additions, omissions, errors?

—————-
Now playing: The Prodigy (Dance) – Breathe
via FoxyTunes

Actions

Information

20 responses

27 05 2009
curlywurlygurly

you are waaay cooler than i could ever aspire to be. my parents laid down the law on manic panic…but flannel and banana clips were my friends.

27 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

It was “dye my hair” (which has since reverted to it’s natural color) or “put another hole in my head”. next time your parents bring up something shady from your past, proudly tout that you never jammed a needle through your eyebrow; as seen the the NYC photo.

27 05 2009
Ginny

You know what I hate? Bras that don’t fit, so that the wearer appears to have 2 boobs on each side, as half is spilling over the cup.

(Not that I’m jealous, or anything.)

(OK, I totally am.)

27 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

BOOBIESSSSS!
I too don’t understand quad-boob… just like uni-boob… eeewwwww.
Bonus ew if the top boob is coming out of a tank top.

27 05 2009
stacy

I don’t know if “Bottoms where you can see the wearers underpants pattern” includes instances where you can see peoples THONG hanging out of their pants. One day – AT WORK – you could see three sides of this woman’s g-string.

27 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

oh, in that instance, it totally does count. I do believe the HR handbook says that if she has the body-type that does not condone thong-wearing, you’re allowed to poison her coffee.

27 05 2009
sas

Tagging you for a meme 🙂
More fun than flannel.

27 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

A meme for meme?!

27 05 2009
Tucker The Much-Better-Than-Dennis Vizsla

I know I’m missing the point a bit, but I like your NYC shot for its view of a couple of buildings that will never be seen again. Oh, and for your hat.

28 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ Tucker/Dennis: Yeah, it was weird… the person I went there with burnt me pretty bad, so I had the photos stashed away for quite a while; we split in 2001. A couple of years ago I ran across these photos.

28 05 2009
thedailydish

“White athletic style socks with dress shoes (and I did it because I didn’t know any better)”

Oooooh – hate this one too! But I think it’s probably true — people who do this just don’t know any better. Poor things.

PS: I do secretly love my double-thick white athletic socks though, and wear them anytime they won’t be seen. Nothing keeps my tootsies toastier!

28 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ dishy: well, that’s acceptable! I mean, if you’re showing ankle, nix the cotton…

28 05 2009
connie

Are those Doc Martens on your feet? Everything comes back in style, my 3 year old granddaughter wears those lace bottomed leggings and we just found several “Blossom” hats! I do promise not to post any pictures of me wearing the infamous jean jumper with white socks and keds!

P.S. I have a new addition in my family, come take a look and help me with a name!!! http://fogle143.blogspot.com/2009/05/loose-lemons-new-addition-or-best-laid.html

1 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Ah, no Connie, those weren’t Docs (couldn’t afford them); Although I did buy a patent lilac pair for $25 (note: they leaked like a sieve) and a green pair of mary janes for $3 at my local thrift store.

30 05 2009
Allison

I had a white pair of those lace-bottom leggings in the spring of 1990. I specifically remember wearing them on a date and being very impressed with myself. Needless to say, no second date.

1 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

“It seemed like a good idea at the time”

1 06 2009
Tony

I hate young blokes with their underpants right up & their jeans right down, I always wanna sneak up on them & give them a mega wedgie

1 06 2009
Tony

Oh & I’ve got a hat kinda like that but it’s white, I have a My Hat’s post in draft as I speak type

1 06 2009
Tony

Oh I just noticed the lace bottomed leggings too. My wife had some, I hated them but haven’t seen them for a long time now. Hope they were ditched or sold on Ebay

1 06 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

wife is to lace leggings what Tony is to bumlebee shirt.

(I also lament baggy pants… look, if I wanted to see your underroos, I’d date you.)

I totally forgot men’s wardrobe maladies… perhaps that’s a post in itself.

Leave a Reply

