Enter the BFH

20 05 2009

As most of my loyal readers know, I adore taking photos.
On my way back from work, I try to stop at the aud and take some demolition photos; as shown in my header.
Yesterday I pulled my camera out of my bag (hey, it’s a point-and-shoot, not an SLR, though, perhaps, if I’m REALLY good, the Birthday Gnome will bring me on. Note: Send entry to Steve.) to take a few shots.
My lens went out-in-out-in-out-in- out-“Turn power off and back on”.
Off
On
out-in-out-in-out-in- out-“Turn power off and back on”
After a few times of this, I did what any impatient person would do, I gave it a hearty rattle and rapping.
(logic: if rattling and rapping make it go wonky, than ratting and rapping should fix it*)
A good ten minutes later, I give up and cave to the (un)power of the camera phone.
DAMN YOU 2.3 MEGAPIXELS!!!
Thinking the battery wasn’t juiced enough to get the lens to focus, I charged for a few hours.
NO CHANGE!
So, I turn to my Hitchhikers Guide… google.
Ends up that a crapload of people have this VERY SAME ISSUE!!!
So, what did they do?
Dropped it.
Lens side down.
Turn on.
Toggle Zoom.

I’ll be damned.
Guess the BFH (big f-ing hammer) DOES work.

* “She falls in a well, eyes go crossed. She gets kicked by a mule, they go back to normal.”

Actions

Information

13 responses

20 05 2009
daisyfae

we call it ‘percussive maintenance’ in my world…

22 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ daisyfae: If this camera rockin’, don’t come a knockin’

20 05 2009
curlywurlygurly

i LOVE that movie…quaid is classic.

glad your cam is back up and running. my little digi has had a broken lens for a year. the lense won’t shut all the way when i turn off. fun!

22 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ CWG: Shitter was full!

20 05 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Sometimes you gotta bust out the BFG-9000 …

22 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ Dennis (or Tucker): I didn’t want to shoot it! People don’t shoot things, people with cameras do!

20 05 2009
morethananelectrician

Consider it more of an adjustment tool…

22 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ MTAE: The floor is a very big adjustment tool…

22 05 2009
Tony

I had a Kodak Easyshare for a week & it died. Worked/didn’t work/worked/didn’t work etc… SWapped it for a Pentax & am much happier. I was so close to using the BFG-9000 on the Kodak

22 05 2009
Tony

Shouldn’t that be BFH-9000???

22 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ Tony: Indeed it should. However, I recall the “G” being for “gun” as “H” is for “hammer”.

25 05 2009
Tony

I do like the BOIWTC-9001 for stubborn cases
Back over it with the car

26 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ Tony: lol…. oh, if only I could fit the stove under YOT… and then there’s that whole issue of subtleness.

Leave a Reply

