Talkin’ House/ Etc.

18 05 2009

Okay Folks, let’s start this week with some crazy unabashed honesty.

Here’s your hypothetical situation: You’re expecting people to come over (family and/or friends).

How much cleaning up do you do? (“Tour of Homes”: dust everything that could collect dust and then set said rag on fire to rid of evidence, “Presentable”: cleaning places were people will be, “Other”)

Do you store your messes? Like, say, jamming your gym bag/whatever spilled from the closet back into the closet and putting a flying buttress on the door to make sure it closes and stays closed?

Do you have the room that no one is allowed in? (like the “office” which has become the dumping ground for anything we are too lazy to put away)

Do you allow people in your bedroom?

****
In other news, this weekend I picked up three fake ficus trees (for the deck) for $6.00.
Also, churches have THE BEST rummage sales. Authentic Italian Pasta Machine (with the 1972 receipt pricing it at $26.00), Volleyball kit, metal lawn thingie (hummingbird which sways around a lily) and a beer-stein-ice-bucket (which now houses a trailing yellow plant) for *drumroll* $3.75!
*****
In Stephanie’s Continuing Adventures in Child Care:
Friday night, The Group once again practiced volleyball for their upcoming season.
I went on a bunny hunt, being VEHEMENTLY told to tip-toe as, “You NEVER know what bunnies will do!”

Reading is an interesting time as the almost-2-year-old like books that are boring to the almost-4-year-old. Regardless, I ended up in a camp chair reading “The Ugly Duckling” with a kid on each knee. At one point, the almost-4-year-old decided she was going to read me the next page.
“And the eggs cracked and the mommy duck looked at all of the little ducks and put them in the water to see if they could swim and then the egg that didn’t crack swam back up the pond and okay you can read this page now.”

There was also another bunny sighting.
“STEPHANIE! Over here! A bunny!”
“I don’t believe you. It is a real bunny?”
“No.”
“So you want me to come see an imaginary bunny?”
“No. It’s real!”
“It’s probably the same bunny that we saw over there.”
“Nnnooooo.”
“Is it brown?”
“Yes.”, she answers.
“How do you know it’s not the same one?”
And as logic follows, “Because it’s not. It’s pink!”
“Whhhhhaaaattt?”
“No, wait, it’s red. And big!”
“So, let me get this straight. First it was fake, then it’s real and it’s not brown or pink, but red.”
“Yes! Hurry up! You’re going to miss it!”

—————-
Now playing: Van Morrison – Moondance
via FoxyTunes

Actions

Information

23 responses

18 05 2009
stacy

Depends on who is coming. And how much I care on that particular day 🙂

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ stacy: Yeah, that was my point this weekend and with the “I don’t want your family in our bedroom!”

19 05 2009
stacy

There is no reason for his family to be in your bedroom! Agree entirely.

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

True Story: The year we got hitched, we hosted Christmas. Well, ends up that I received a fair number of highly adult/questionable “gifts” of which I did not know how to dispose of with the garbage men thinking I was running some kind of brothel.
So, we did what any other couple would do.
We hid the items in a closed section of our TV stand.
Ends up that some of the um, self-removing family members ended up IN OUR BEDROOM (which had the door closed, which I took to mean as the international sign for “Off Limits”) WITH THEIR CURIOUS CHILDREN who ended up opening and closing ALL the doors in our room. And bouncing on our bed. Which didn’t have company ready sheets on it. BECAUSE IT’S OUR BEDROOM.

18 05 2009
morethananelectrician

My wife puts everything in big plastic bins. It seems like we have a bin from every occasion. Christmas 2007, Birthday Party 2008…if we last saw something between Jan and August of 2008, we know the bin to look in…ARRRGHHH!!!!!

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ mtae: Yeesh. I mean, all for organizing and such, but really?

18 05 2009
Dolce

Apparently, you can never have too many ficuses…fici…ficus x 2? Hahah. Depends who’s coming over…if it’s my mom, lots. If it’s a mate, none! 🙂

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ Dolce: I guess the guy who was selling them had too many ficus/ficuses/fici…

18 05 2009
Tony

I stopped blogging, but not for long then started a Blogger one but mine & Dixie’s blogs are transferred back to WordPress now as all my bloggy friends are here
http://oldfartsblog.wordpress.com
http://dixiesblog.wordpress.com

18 05 2009
Tony

P.S you will notice my url’s slightly different to before

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ tony: YEAH! You’re back! I was afraid those tolls had taken over!

18 05 2009
Nina

Well, I tend to go with the tour of homes theme, unless I’m told about the visit THAT DAY which my husband seems to think is funny. Then I go with the presentable/reasonably sanitary motif.

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ nina: I admire your energy level… there is NO WAY I can keep my house that clean.

18 05 2009
daisyfae

varies by both my level of energy, amount of time available and my willingness to let them see what a piggie i am… i use the “office” trick, and stashing things in closets trick. to the point i lose things…

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ daisyfae: I hear that… tomorrow’s chore is going to be a through office cleaning. Beh. Hate cleaning –> dump in office –> clean office –> clean house –> clean office

18 05 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Moondance! My favorite Foxtrot! Oh, and that little girl is hallucinating.

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ dennisthevizsla: I want whatever apple juice she’s got.

18 05 2009
curlywurlygurly

my house is always tidy–i’m a fah-reek like that. as for the bedroom? no, that’s off-limits–our santuary. don’t want any bad ju-ju from guests polluting our air. ahahhaha.

as for the rummage sale…a pasta maker from the nixon era? that should be good for a blog post or two…

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ CWG: Well, yeah, you only have the Black Cat of Moodiness and I can’t imagine you being very (or any) untidy.
Now, for the pasta maker, I have to a) get a recipe for whole grain/interesting pasta b) figure out HOW to read Italian pasta machine instructions c) figure out how to use Italian pasta machine d) give up and go to Wegmans e) use pasta machine as a decorative doorstop/flower pot.

19 05 2009
thedailydish

You gotta love kids! If an adult said those things they’d either be insane and/or on drugs. But a kid can tell you there’s a giant red rabbit hanging out in the bushes and it is completely acceptable.

I do not clean if I do not have to. ever. HATE IT WITH A PASSION I RESERVE ONLY FOR THE MOST UNHOLY. I am tidy, usually, but I abhor mopping, sweeping, dusting, scrubbing, spraying, etc. Ask your husband to do it.

19 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

@ dishy: I lament cleaning… such a, chore… ugh. I ended up washing my sheers (for the first time in let’s-not-discuss-how-long) and well, gross. Times like that makes me really feel like I should keep up more.

19 05 2009
curlywurlygurly

just get THE PEOPLE. i heart my peeps. hahahaha

19 05 2009
connie

I am in the clean freak category with CWG (with a touch of OCD) MTAE…what is wrong with labeled containers…you said that like it’s a bad thing hahahahahaha!!!!

As long as you were not seeing purple elephants all is well in Bouncy Land!

Leave a Reply

