Maddeningness

8 05 2009

Because my brain is, quite literally, going to explode at any moment, here are some SUPER FUN! tidbits of my week.

(We have restrooms for each gender on each floor. The 6th floor men’s room is unlocked all the time and almost every other floor is locked. Most of the men in my office use the 6th floor. We also have two restroom keys.)
Constant Comment: Which of these keys is for the men’s room?
Me, trying not to grab my crotch and give the “how the hell should I know?!” face: I’m guessing the red [lanyard] one.
CC: This one? (holds up the blue one)
me: Nope, pretty sure it’s the other one.
CC: Which one do the women use?
me: The blue one.
CC: Really?
me: Yes.
CC: BUT BLUE IS FOR BOYS!

bottoms up!

bottoms up!

CC, after spending a good five minute rummaging in the storage closet: These little tag things [adhesive “flags”], where do we have them?
me: Oh, well, I’m pretty much the only one who uses them, so there aren’t any extra and I have them at my desk.
CC, disappointed as a boy who just found out Santa isn’t real: Oh.
me: Do you need some?
CC: Sure, yeah! Blue, Green, whatever color! (I peel off a lump of yellow tags) THESE are YELLOW. Fine. Whatever.

CC: Well, there are MORE revisions to this proposal.
me: Okay.
CC, in true dramarama fashion: NOWWWWW they give us the contract number, so all the places where there isn’t a contract number need to have the number put in.
me, trying so very hard not to say something inappropriate: Okay.
CC continues random whining
me: ‘sno big deal, I’ll make the changes.
CC, in full on THE SKY IS FALLING mode: WELL IT’S A BIG DEAL TO ME! NOWWWW we have to go review the WHOLE THING ALL OVER AGAIN.

Oh, by the way, this exact same document had no less than 11 revisions prior to this. I keep documentation.

ssssoooshshhh, I says to her, I says...

ssssoooshshhh, I says to her, I says...

CC: We need to take out “B”.
me: okay.
CC: So that means that what was “C” is going to be “B”.
me: I understand.
CC: …and what was “D” is now “C”…
me: Yes. I understand.

See, I view “Intense Overexplaination” as a subtle way to say, “You royally screwed this up last time you fucking idiot and I’m going to spell it out for you so it doesn’t happen again.
Execpt in this case, there was no screw up.

Is it in bad taste to make a daisy chain of how many days are left until CC’s tenure is up?
(it’s 7, btw)

Actions

Information

22 responses

8 05 2009
Mr Bill

You should be counting the hours. Would that be 40 or 48? Unless you take out for lunch, coffee breaks, micromanagement, and constant complaining. I think he is most likely 4.375 years over due.

8 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Have I told you lately that I love you? HE NEVER F-ING SHUTS UP!!! I’m sick to my stomach over how annoyed I am.

8 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I can’t believe I forgot this one!

Earlier in the week, I sent out a memo from the landlord stating that the primary entrance was going to be closed.
CC: So that email you sent about the entrance…
me, nicely: Yes?
CC: What was that about?
me, clearly busy: There was a memo attached.
CC: Was it about those photos of the baby in the travel agency* display?
me, NOT saying “that is the most absurd thing I have heard you say”: Um, no.
CC: What it was it about then? Because I didn’t…
me, not really cutting him off, he started trailing: read it. Yeah, I can tell.

*In case you haven’t noticed, we don’t work at a travel agency, nor do we have any contact with said travel agency.

8 05 2009
stacy

This guy is a huge tool. I imagine you will be drinking the actual alcoholic beverages pictured in this post TODAY and in seven days, when he leaves.

8 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Oh and one for everyday in between 🙂
I talked to a co-worker about him and the way he address me and she claims he talks to me the same way he talks to everyone else.
I can’t imagine an ego that large.

8 05 2009
daffy

Knob. Can I say Knob on your blog? Sorry I should say….*nob.
Not long honey…. I’ll have a few drinks for you, just to numb the pain…

10 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

you sure can say knob.
knobknob knob konb.

8 05 2009
daisyfae

i’ve got a senior scientist who follows up e-mails in an unusual, and terribly annoying, manner. if i receive an e-mail from him, i start counting. it takes about 7 seconds for him to walk from his desk to my door, where he says “I sent you an e-mail….” and then proceeds to tell me what was in it… so i never read his e-mails, because i’m going to get it verbally in 7 seconds.

i should start hiding under my desk. or i can send him your way when you start missing CC….

8 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

aaaggghhhhh!

DO NOT WANT!!!

I HATE when they’re all “Didya get that email about (insert specifics about email here)?”
When Annoyance asks, I tell him “Nope. Don’t read my email. Takes up too much time.” and go back to looking at my fingernails.

8 05 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Grey Goose, take me away!!!!

10 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

ohhh, ho ho ho, take, theses Grey Goose Wings and learn to fly again *something something something* oohhh yeaaah, take, these Grey Goose wings…

8 05 2009
curlywurlygurly

i want a sparkly drink with fruit on a pirate sword and a paper parasol. k? thanks.

10 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

seltzer water with some pom syrup, a slice of pineapple speared by a plastic sword coming right up!

11 05 2009
thedailydish

The beer here in Portland is GOOOOOOD.

11 05 2009
kyknoord

No! You can’t let CC go, ‘cos then he’ll probably come and work for my company.

11 05 2009
Dolce

You could always be sick for 7 days?

11 05 2009
thegnukid

this guy sounds overqualified to be in my department. we’ve got about 3 of them here. glad you have the fourth one there… (and with my sincere pity and understanding)

12 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

well you know, if the four of them got together, it’d start raining frogs and the locust would come and the lake would start on fire… oh, wait..

12 05 2009
connie

You are entirely too civil to CC, clearly sarcasm would go right over his head…surely he deserves a proper “send off” when he leaves!!!

Stories like this remind me that working for family is a pain some days, however they know when they have skirted too close to the edge and back off.

12 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I am fully prepared to hold the door open for him.

31 07 2009
Pippa

Wow, I’m sorry to admit this, but you make me feel better about the folk in my office, Stephanie.

Just today – for the nth time – I got the you-can-talk-but-i’m-going-to-pretend-you’re-not-here-cold-shoulder. Literally turning away from me and talking to someone else. What peeves me so is that I’m not sure WHY it happens. Is it a racial thing? (This is South Africa, after all, and the legacy of apartheid continues.)

Or am I just invisible? I might have superpowers I’m not even aware of!

Good luck with the challenged being, sheesh.

13 09 2010
Monday, Why do you Torture me??! « please, stop bouncing

[…] Constant Comment is in the office. (remember him? Here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

