Lemons into Lemonade

22 04 2009

Well.
This has been an interesting day- to say the least.
First, the crummy part.

735am: en route to work my phone rings but I miss the call as I am listening to the news.
When I get a hold of Steve, he informs me that The Company made their decision and he is on his way home.
Permanently.
He’s getting severance and we’re more shocked than concerned/worried. He’s a smart guy and I see this as the cosmoses way of kicking him in the pants.

Around 4pm, he sends me a pix message.
Mom and Dad sent me LEMONS!!!!
And he included the caption, “When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade.”

Oh, I should probably divert here… we all have our obsessions… Nat has her books, Dishy has her garbage disposal, Daffy’s got her birds (sorry if I forgot you and your quirk).
Besides antiques, I get all Bubba (as in the character from “Forest Gump”) about lemons.
LEEEEMMMMMOOONNNNSSSSSS.

om nom nom

om nom nom

(oh, and that flashy piece in the back, that’d be my kick-ass spring trench)

“Are those all?!”
Heeellll no.
Those are the ones going to my friend Heather. The same Heather who made me an ENTIRE tray of lemon tart for my birthday.

So I thought to myself, WHAT am I going to do with near ten pounds of lemons?! (the box was 12 pounds and 2 of those pounds were beer)

A number of them are sliced and freezing (single layer), where upon solidarity, they will be freezer-burn-proofed and placed in water/lemonade/broth/chicken/pasta/shrimp.
Another lot have been zested (yes, I do own a zester, why?) and squeezed, yielding their sweet sweet juices…

Juices for LEMONADE!
lemonade
That would be my new set of glasses, thanks for noticing! (The Easter Bunny brought me a Kohl’s card and seeing as I was about to drop all of the other crappy glasses…)
Included with my LEMONS was this recently tested with a bit of frozen lemon slice recipe:

3/4 cup cold water
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup fresh lemon juice (about 4-6 lemons)

Mix water and sugar over high heat (you know, a simple sugar!) and let simmer until water is dissolved.
Let simple sugar cool.
Mix sugar solution with lemon juice.
Add about a quart of water- the whole thing yields about  two quarts to taste- stir and serve.

I think that when God pees, it’s lemon juice; I love lemons that much.

Actions

Information

23 responses

23 04 2009
Tony

My wife wants a lemon tree. A whole tree of the things, how many lemons can a married couple with all kids left home eat/suck/drink????

23 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ tony] I had a lemon tree and promptly killed it; like most plants. Oh, you can use lemons for lots of things… seasoning, steaming, juicing (for ade, frosting, muffins, bread), natural disinfectant, to clean your microwave….

23 04 2009
Tony

BTW what actually is all the twisted wreckage in your header picture???

23 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ tony, duex] That’d be the last person who ticked me off. No, really, they’re tearing down an arena on my way to the office. Thought it captured the general feeling of chaos.

23 04 2009
Michele

Sorry about Steve’s job. That stinks but from what you were telling us at Olive Garden a few weeks ago I am sure he will find something quick! Good Luck!

23 04 2009
Michele

Oh and YEAH lemons!!!!!!!!! 🙂

23 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ Michele] Thanks! we see it that way too… good thing this is going to be a nice week! And the lemons, they’re divine.

23 04 2009
stacy310

I am loving your perspective about now. And, I really want some lemonade. Or lemonice. Can you make lemonice?

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ stacy] hmmmm, I have not tried to make lemonice… google, here we come! You know, come to think of it, I think some vodka could keep it a slushy consistency…

23 04 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

i’m so sorry to hear about steve’s job…i hope this turns into an opportunity for him to find an even better job.

as for lemonade…pass the pitcher…i’m a huge fan.

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ nat] we are further united in our sisters-from-another-mother-ness.

23 04 2009
hisqueen1

So sorry to hear about Steve’s job. Don’t mean to discourage but save the pennies for now…my brother got laid off on April 2..has sent out over 30 resumes and not heard one word..he has a bachelors degree and over 10 yrs experiance in manufacturing production management and still nothing…hope they both get something soon!!
Lemons….yuuummmmyyyy…hubby loves lemon stuff. Not smart enough to make real lemonade (maybe just not patient enough)

23 04 2009
thedailydish

Could that be a cooler co-inky-dink? Lose a job – get lemons?!

Hope Steve is okay w/ it all. Best of luck w/ everything.

PS: LOVE LEMONS!! YUM!

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ dishy] Let’s hear it for lemons!

24 04 2009
kyknoord

I guess that’s why god is always in such a bad mood.

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ kyknoord] Oh, I guess I never considered the burning aspect… though it is god, I’m sure he/she can just make it stop burning… or maybe that’s what he had Jesus for.

26 04 2009
mccgood

Newcomer to your blog. Hubby lost his job at the end of Feb. He is now working at a seasonal job and we are dealing. I enjoy lemmons as well.

If you would like please feel free to stop by my blog.

26 04 2009
Dolce

Do you eat the skins? I’m with you…nom nom

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ dolce] kinda, I zest the skins off and depending what I make, sometimes I do eat the skin.

26 04 2009
Mr Bill

Lemons……. OOOHHHHhhhh yessssss.

After buying an electric juicer and many many hours of use we have ended up with over 4 gallons of double strained pure sunshine. There are still more up in and falling from the tree with round two lemons starting to appear. Next time we will just send the juice.

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ Mr.Bill] ‘ever, you know I can put anything to good use. In fact, the leftover rinds are in the composter as we speak. It’s weird to have lemon-scented compost.

26 04 2009
connie

Well you know how I feel about LEMONS!!!! The Loose Lemon household LOVES lemonade…I put lemon on almost everything!

Sorry to hear about the job, it is a too frequent reality for many…sending postive thoughts your way…think of it as an opportunity in disquise…all the best (((hugs)))

27 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ connie] Aw, thanks! We’re really taking it in stride (unlike some family members) and seeing it as a golden opportunity. And it’s refreshing *hahahhaha*to see so many other lemon lovers!

Leave a Reply

