observations (who didn’t see this coming?)

21 04 2009

The past couple days have been a crazy roller-coaster. I’m just glad that I remembered to fasten my seat belt.

weeeee!

weeeee!

Items of note:
– Steve’s uncle had a heart attack. He’s 40. With three kids. Word has it that he’s fine and the docs are going test crazy.
– For the past (what feels like) forever now, Steve’s place of employment has been jerking the employees around regarding layoffs (when it will happen, how many will be cut). Granted, most of the information regarding “when” is all hearsay, first it was Sunday, then yesterday, now tomorrow; but we just want it to be over with so we know whether to pop the champagne* or iron a load of laundry. And then people can stop asking us, “but what are you going to do?!?”
– My friend’s dad is in hospital as well with a laundry-list of afflictions.

And perhaps the most concerning, I AM GETTING BLOOD WORK DONE TONIGHT.
(I kid, I kid)

In other news, my “ah-ha” light bulb went on.
Okay, remember how I would say that I felt slighted at The Old Job? Like the boss didn’t like me, for whatever reason?
This week is Administrative Professionals Week (or some such bull), happens every year. Bosses are supposed appreciate copier un-jamming/supply stocking/telemarketer aversion/junk mail sorting/records keeping/event coordination/etc. with flowers, coffee, lunch, whatever whoever is selling… and the following week, Bosses resume badgering for collaborating office-wide informationless reports.
Anyhow, so last year, and don’t think I didn’t notice, despite my aloofness, The Boss took out Co-Worker** “to get office supplies”. Not surpisingly, it took over an hour and Co-Worker didn’t eat her lunch when she came back.
It’s not that I’m asking for recognition, but at least be fair.

Also, I have decided to stop wondering why somethings don’t make it across my desk in a timley manner-
Field Engineer, to me: Oh, can you give this to Project Engineer?
me: Sure thing.
Constant Comment: What’s he [Project Engineer] need THAT for? He’s got all the money in the world!
me, to FE: I’ll keep this up front with me… don’t want it to get lost in the shuffle.
CC, to FE: You know that guy, Jerry, Jerry what’s his name?
FE: The guy who owns the [client’s] company?
CC: Yeah, Jerry, Jerry, Jerry Bee, Jerry Ach?
FE: yeah yeah!
CC: Well, when he started out, he didn’t have two pennies to rub together! And do you know how he started his business? He purchased one of those line-making devices and restriped a parking lot!
me, internally: Whoop-de-freaking-do.
FE: NO WAY!
CC: YUP! Just one parking lot and now he has his own plane!
FE: He’s a mulit-multi-multi-millionare now!
CC: YES!
me, interally: what would it take for my eyes to melt?

And then, the full circle… guess who offered to take Kick-Ass Co-Worker and I to lunch tomorrow?

* not saying that this is an optimal situation, but I think it’d push him to find something he laments less.
** You remember them, don’t you? “‘The Glassman’ is filed under ‘T’ for ‘The’!”

Actions

Information

9 responses

21 04 2009
Scott

As it has been said: (intones) ‘There’s no such thing as a free lunch’…
Unless you can get your boss really drunk and take photos of him/her in a compromising position with a domestic animal…
Then, the lunch is a ticket to your own executive bathroom key, baby.

21 04 2009
daisyfae

order something expensive, then pick at it and drink your water. no, wait… order something expensive, then eat the entire thing and snag food off the boss’ plate. oh, and don’t forget the flatulence…

21 04 2009
daffy

Goodness, I struggled to keep up with all of the comings and goings there for a second!
Hope Steves uncle makes a speedy recovery.
Hope lunch goes well ;o)
Hope you are ok. :o)

21 04 2009
stacy310

There is a lot on here, but I’m gonna focus on the footnote. It’s crazy how, as “responsible adults” we get sort of trapped by our jobs. I hope that Steve’s job is SAFE… but I also hope that he can find something that makes him happier, while still receiving a pay check (so that there is no stress. And, another side effect of unemployment? It’s not fun to arrive home at 6:30 with your hubby still in his jammas, dog isn’t fed, dinner isn’t made … but he made progress on his videogames! (this is MUCH more common than one would think…))

I am very happy at my job. However… if they laid me off tomorrow? I’d cry. I’d feel defeated… then, I’d pack my flat screens and my puppy in to my truck, and drive to the pacific ocean. I hate it here – I only live here b/c I have a great job. No Job? F it. I’m out.

21 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ stacy] funny isn’t it… the job trapping part. Having “been there, done that”, the most upsetting part is when you do what you really want to (not just job-wise), you wonder what you were afraid of in the first place.

22 04 2009
thedailydish

Sorry to hear about all the illness – as well as the possible layoff. And of course your bloodwork (NOT to be-little THAT!) BUT Happy to hear you are being acknowledged this year. Hope you have fun! PS: Good luck w/ first 3. Wishing all the best.

22 04 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

sending zen wishes to you…not that i’m all zen or anything. actually, the closest i get to zen is burning aroma therapy candles. at least then my house can smell nice as i have anxiety attacks.

hope everything improves–and good job on the recognition at work–you must be doing something right!!!

22 04 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

[@ everyone] well, um, gee, so, yeah… as I quote from The Mister, “I took great pleasure in throwing out all of my [branded] work shirts. You should see how much room I have in my closet now!”
So, that’s how that went down.
We’re more shocked then worried, cuz that’s how we roll.

23 04 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

If I’m reading your last comment correctly, sorry to hear that, and I hope the next set of [branded] work shirts show up quickly and fit better.

Leave a Reply

