Why it’s Worth it to Plan

27 03 2009

After paying $30 is fines and having a new card issued, I was ready to start using my library system.
“$30 in fines?!?! How does one even do that?!” Oh, I can hear you asking.
For starters, I took out books for Dad that were lost or whatever ($18 right there).
Everything else was returned LATE, despite having the library on the corner of my street. A street that was a dead-end, making it impossible not to have to pass the library.
ANYWAY.

Keytag library card in hand, I walk to the fiction section only to find that the copy of the book I want is out.

Sure, I understand that I could have simply purchased the book OR I could have checked to see if the book was in stock.
I could have purchased said book for less than $5 from half.com or for like $15 at Borders.

As the world punished me for my 7-year-old fines (no, really), I was harassed by a bum whose idea of begging was to stay in the same place and holler at me.
“HEY! HEY! HEY YOU! PRETTY LADY! SWEETHEART! HEY HEY! Bitch.”
Dude, seriously, if you want my money, there best be an exchange of goods or services. At least dance for me or something…

Actions

Information

13 responses

27 03 2009
stacy310

What book? Is there at least a waiting list?

27 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Dogs of Babel by Parkhurst?
I can get on the waiting list FOR A DOLLAR and I’m all “no. thanks.”

27 03 2009
nat @ book, line, and sinker

i’ll see your ‘down the street library’ and RAISE you an ‘i volunteer at the library once a week and my books are STILL late’. currently i’m carrying a balance of $14.10…but am waiting for amnesty month (april) during which i can bring canned food to benefit the food bank to pay down my fines. i’m nothing if not classy…

27 03 2009
Connie

My library fines keep the library petty cash box funded. See good deed. I feel better. Hey Lady, ya gotta a dollar???? I need to pay library fines…

27 03 2009
that girl

This sounds like a Seinfeld episode. Was one of your books Tropic of Capricorn?

28 03 2009
kyknoord

I understand your reluctance to go to the library. My ex was a librarian. It’s scarred me a little.

29 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

The best I can hope for you is that she was a sexy librarian.

28 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Dance? Oh, no. No, you don’t want him to dance. Well, maybe dance. But no handstands!

29 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Yeah, good point. His potato sack would have been over his face and well, yuk.

29 03 2009
morethananelectrician

My wife can PICK UP books from the library…but not drop them off. When I get up in the morning there will be pile…and a note that they have to be in BEFORE the library opens or they will be late.

29 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Oh, see, I thought libraries pulled the “blockbuster” where they need to be back before close of business on the due date. Duly noted.

29 03 2009
Mr Bill

Wait… You checked Me out a book… you know I can’t read

29 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

It had photos! Back when we were in our om/zen/yoga phase.

Leave a Reply

