Phew!

20 03 2009

becuase I know you’ve all been miiissssiinngggg mmeeeeeee….

I was all sorts of entangled in deadline work stuff.
It’d be so much easier if people would just get stuff in at a reasonable time-frame and then not micro-manage my work. KTHNX.
(let’s just say that a half-hour before the end of my shift, said Annoyance came wheezing up to my desk, asking “you got my work done for me? *har dee har har*” to which I replied, “Perhaps you’d like to check your e-mail.”, “OH! Did you just sent it?”, “No, I sent it about three hours ago.”)
And of course he’s not here today, which actually makes my life easier and allows me time to figure out how I’m going to deal with him in a car for two hours. (Yeah! Business Trip! BOO! With Annoyance)

Aforementioned business trip also involves my acquiring of some slightly-more-professional-wear. Not that I don’t dress nice now, but I feel that being in a position of authority allows one to dress authoritative.  Thus, I have decided to procure a *gasp* suit.

Having gotten that proposal off my desk (and delivered an hour early, unlike last time) really makes me feel good.

Speaking of feeling good, I’ve been reading “I Can Make You Thin” by Dr. McKenna… wish I would have gotten the book before spending a year at Weight Watchers; pretty much the same idea, just a hell of a lot cheaper.

Oh, and the opposite of cheap would be  Greek Yogurt. No, it’s not a euphimism, it’s acutally yougert. I picked some up a few weeks ago and now it’s a staple. I’m typically not a fan of plain yougurt, but with some honey.. *bliss* But, at around $5 for 16oz…

Reverting to the book, I don’t know why the concepts seem so “OH!” and at the same time  “DUH!”. I.E. “Eat if you’re hungry and eat slowly.” Now that I’m only eating things I LOVE, it’s much easier to feel content.

And I spent most of this week not-content, don’t know why, but I was quite a pity party. I felt better yesterday and 100% better today.
We’ll say it’s due to ice cream and Melissa.

Boy, office is quiet today.

P.S.
What’s the deal with March Madness? Maybe it’s because I didn’t go to a “real” college… or during “normal” hours.  Or maybe because I don’t like basketball.

Actions

Information

15 responses

20 03 2009
stacy

1. I am envious of your recent need to procure a suit. I must don one, like a uniform, Monday through Thursday.

2. I love Greek yogurt with cheeries – they sell them together in containers. I generally make myself a regular yogurt parfait in the morning, though. Yum.

3. Where is your business trip?

4. I’m glad that you are feeling better!!!

5. I don’t like basketball, either. March Madness is only fun if you have a bracket, and if you are unreasonably competitive. I could CARE LESS who wins, so long as I get a green highlight on my bracket….

20 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I could never do brackets because I’d base the teams success chiefly on who had the cutest mascot/best color combination; very scientific.

Annoyance and I get to to go LOVELY Erie, PA. I figured it’d be a tad much if I listen to my iPod and play with the DS the whole time; I’m not 13. Maybe I should pack some stinky gym socks and duct tape.

Also, you’re a lawyer, you earned the suit (and subsequent Loubitans (sp?)).

20 03 2009
stacy

Oh, I base my brackets on pure nonsense, too , but that doesn’t stop me from being unreasonably competitive about it.

I’d bring a book – one that you won’t be embarassed for Annoyance to see. i.e., not Shopaholic and the City. Is it a road trip? Or train, etc. ? If its NOT in the car, it’s likely that Annoyance will be doing work, reading, etc., anyway. If it IS the car – sorry, you are screwed.

Yes, the suits. Ugh. No Louboutians (sp) for me… I got my fancy bday present, and cannot justify the shoes under any circumstances. 🙂

20 03 2009
stacy

I’m fried. I saw now that it is the car. So you are screwed, sorry…

21 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

If only I didn’t get car sick when reading in the car. 😦

20 03 2009
natalie

down with all things professional–including business suits. boo. i’m all about jeans and sweaters. sadly, i have to spiff up for school, but still no suits. i feel like a flight attendant when i don one.

i’ve missed you and can feel your pain–i was at work last night until 8:frickin’20pm. and 7:30 the two nights before. ugh. have a swell weekend. swak!

21 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

So, when I don the suit, I can point to the doors of the car and be all “notice the exits here, here and here.”

20 03 2009
morethananelectrician

If you are trying to “get thinner”… plan accordingly with the purchase of the suit…just sayin’!!!!

21 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

eh, it’s a suit from Penny’s… I’m back to inbetween sizes, so a little hemming, a little tacking.

21 03 2009
kyknoord

Oh, you poor thing! I’ve been on trips with annoying colleagues before and it’s hell on wheels. It’s marginally better if you’re doing the driving, because then you can console yourself with the knowledge that you have the option of veering into oncoming traffic if it all gets too much.

21 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I think I’ll make sure the child locks aren’t on and thrust myself out of one of the doors…

21 03 2009
fastbackss

Congrats on the work trip. It will be beneficial for you even if you have to go with Annoyance.

And boo on the brackets! There are not many things better than March Madness. I am halfway through my 40 hours in 4 days and I’m going strong.

21 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Um, did the team with the cute mascot win?

21 03 2009
fastbackss

Nope. But the one with the cute cheerleaders did. Which, conveniently, was not the one I chose.

21 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

The only “March Madness” I ever paid attention to was the Spring weather back in New York.

Leave a Reply

