Not Ending Up on the News: Part 1

16 03 2009

Seeing as this is a saga, it’s only fair that it’s broken into two bits.

Seeing as my dear reader(s) are confused by the initial issue, I will switch up.
“D” will now be Diane. Diane is a friend of “C”/”Charlotte” and we have not met. Diane communicates via email/interwebs.
“C” will be Charlotte.
“M” will be Melissa (sssshhhh, not her real name), my bestie.

The most important thing to mention was that I did not get in a fight a baby shower.
That being said, am I f-ing glad this weekend is over.

The Back story:
Our friend, “Teppo” made a baby with Charlotte and she is due middle of next month.

In October, my friend Melissa and I offered to throw Charlotte a shower at Casa Mak; around the end of February.
Charlotte agreed.
HOORAY!
Around Janurary-ish, Charlotte let us know that her friend Diane is interested in throwing a shower as well.
We come to the agreement that we’ll party up with Diane.
I offer my home to Diane and am, quite frankly, shot down like enemy aircraft.

bbeeeewwwwwooooooo!

bbeeeewwwwwooooooo!

Passive Stephanie: That’s cool.  No big.
Diane books a hall.
At a winery. For two hours (most showers are at least 3, if not 4 hours to allow for eating/mingling/presents/games)
FOR A BABY SHOWER.
Diane tells me, in no uncertain terms, that I would “need to understand Charlotte and my relationship to understand why it has to be at a winery.”
Okay, WTF? ‘ever.
All of our communication is taking place via interweb.

The Mid-Story
Diane asks me to send her names/addresses of people who should be invited.
Among the first group of people is The Mister’s mom.
Diane states she is “really” busy with her Masters; I understand, The Mister is getting his too.
We (Melissa and I) offer to assist and it’s determined that we will be in charge of decorations, food and games. Diane will get beverages, cake (“I know this woman who makes really cute cakes!”) and the hall.
Being told that there will be about thirty invitees, we procure plates/napkins/cups (which I left at home, come to think of it) and purchase balloons/streamers/tablecloths.
Diane is still getting names and addresses as there are some people I just can’t get a hold of.
The Mister’s mom asks me if I’ve gotten my invite yet.  I state that I have and I will check with Diane to make sure the address is correct. Diane doesn’t reply, so I take that as an all-clear. A few weeks later, The Mister’s mom asks again about the shower… still no invite.

About three weeks before the shower I send Diane another address and she informs me that she “ran out” of invites and could I call my people?  BTW, invites were PRINTED [from a PC], with the date crossed out a new date written in.
Oh, and Diane “needs a count” of how many people are coming so she can order etched wine glasses.
Well, gee, seeing as most of my invitees DIDN’T GET INVITATIONS…
Melissa & I plan food for about 25-ish.

Tuesday Before the Shower
I (not Melissa, who has been included on correspondence thus far) get an e-mail from Diane, stating, in what can only be described as “tee-hee-hee, oops!”, she states that she’s all done with school now and she’s available to help.
She asked, was she supposed to get decorations?  She can’t remember! She was getting balloons to tie to the bottles.  Should she get tablecloths?  Oh, by the way, how ARE things coming with food?!

And steam comes from my ears.

peeeewooo!

peeeewooo!

Day of the Shower
As The Mister leaves for his annual bowling tourney, he comes back into the house.
“Stephanie.” He says In a Most Serious Way, “Please behave today.  Really.  Be good. For Charlotte‘s sake.”
I smirk, “Oh, I’ll be good!”
“No.  Really.  BEHAVE.”

Next Chapter:
Stephanie plays nice. For a little while.

Actions

Information

15 responses

16 03 2009
kyknoord

He knows you well, doesn’t he?

16 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

that, or he’s frightened of me.
Either way…

16 03 2009
morethananelectrician

That whole thing got my blood boiling…but I stress about all things like this. These are things that make make me want to climb out of an upstairs window and get out on the roof.

16 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

oh, it comes to a head in tomorrow’s installment.
While I didn’t get into a fight, D was de-“friend”ed this morning; with great rejoicing.

16 03 2009
M. Tornado Puppy

sounds to me like the mister has things figured out: baby shower = bowling tourney instead.

16 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

eh, he goes every year.
besides, (as far as I know) he’s not the baby daddy, what would he do there? besides the physical labor of taking boxes of diapers to the truck…

16 03 2009
natalie

is there a cliffs notes version of this story?? the initials and name totally messed me up…but i am easily confused, so that’s not really saying much. i just think this tale was a bit much to ask of your readers on a MONDAY. just sayin’.

17 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Um, well, replace “D” with someone who has no social skills, “C” with a sweet person, “M” with your bestie…

16 03 2009
Connie

Oh. Dear. Anxiously awaiting part II… this is much better than worrying about my own behavior.

17 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Glad to help with the cause.

17 03 2009
Melissa

We can lay the smack down at Teppo’s first birthday party. 🙂

17 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Oh, there will not be a joint Teppo party. Southtowns party at Casa Mak.
Northerners not allowed.

17 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I’m still not sure who is who but I am sure that this isn’t going to end well …

17 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

oy vey.
I thought maybe putting initials would keep things straight and anonymous…

17 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Seeing as my dear reader(s) are confused by the initial issue…

“D” will now be Diane. Diane is a friend of “C”/”Charlotte”. We have not yet met.
“C” will be Charlotte.
“M” will be Melissa (sssshhhh, not her real name), my bestie.

Leave a Reply

