Today’s Repressed Memory: Doctor’s Office Music

3 03 2009

hey, it’s cheaper than a shrink.

Due to circumstances far beyond my (and Mom’s and Dad’s) control, as a kid I spent too much time in doctors offices.
Seemed like no matter which doctor we went to see, they all played the same station.
The Soft Rock Station.  (perhaps today, it would be “all of your favorites from the 70s, 80s and today!”)
Not wanting to go in the first place and then sitting though “Against all Odds” (Phil Collins), “Daniel” (Elton John), “Sara” (Starship), “Kokomo” (Beach Boys), “Baker Street” (Gerry Rafferty), “The Things We Do for Love” (10cc), etc. which when you’re under ten is as bad as having to do spelling homework.
Perhaps it’s all those afternoons spent with people poking and prodding, stabbing and slicing that makes the “Adult Contemporary” station so hard to listen to.  Even now.
So if we’re in the car and I say I hate Billy Joel, I mean it.

(nowdays I’m an “OH MY GOD! IT’S A TUMOR!!!” or “Meh, the bleeding will stop. Eventually.” kind of girl)

Actions

Information

11 responses

3 03 2009
curlywurlygurly

what does it say about me that i LOVE half the songs you mentioned? baker street is a classic! and 10cc?! c’mon!

i freeeeely admit to LURVING muzak.

4 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

I think it confirms what we all already knew: You’re a basketcase.

3 03 2009
morethananelectrician

Not a fan of that era either, but for entirely different reasons.

4 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

John Melloncamp elicits the “vomit and run” reaction from you too? awesome.

4 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Ahnuld sez, “It’s NOT a toomah!!!”

4 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Haa!
I said that after the last scare!

4 03 2009
Connie

I was thinking of starting a new blog called “Welcome to the Darkside” where I could talk about stuff that annoys me without ruining my reputation as the epitome of sweetness and light!!! I love your posts, I can so relate and you are too funny.

4 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

SOLD!

I’ll have to think of a goth pseudonym.

4 03 2009
Connie

Oh and please turn up the Billy Joel…John Mellancamp and Phil Collins

4 03 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

huh-huh-huack-hack-BLLLLAHHHH

(that’s my impersonation of a cat yaking up a hairball)

4 03 2009
kyknoord

So it’s true. If it doesn’t kill you, it makes you stronger?

Leave a Reply

