Grrr./Cookie Therapy

23 02 2009

Well, after another odd night (socks, no socks, socks, BaileySocks)- which I will chalk up to nervousness about The Lump- I’m back to anticipation phase.
The Doc can’t get me in until tomorrow at noon.
So now I need to decide how to plan my morning tomorrow… see about working at home in the am; come into work, leave, come back; come into work in the morning and just go home afterwards?
Meh.

Knowing that cooking/baking makes me feel distracted, I opted to pick up items for
oatmeal scotchies.

3/4 butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour (I used whole wheat)
2 cups oats
1 bag of Butterscotch chips (or less, to taste)

1. Beat softened butter for 30 seconds on medium/high.
2. Add in sugars.
3. Add in soda, powder, vanilla.
4. Gradually add flour.
5. Mix in oats.  It’s advisable to do this on a very low setting.
6. Stir in chips.
7. Bake for 8-11 minutes at 375.
8. Let stand on sheet for a minute then transfer to rack/waxed paper.

“Hey, so, what are we doing for dinner?”, Steve asks at 730 last night.
“Dunno.” I say, realizing that my nose is sore from Another Incident I Don’t Want to Talk About, thus making me cranky.
“Cookies?”
“Sure, we’re adults. Not like anyone’s going to yell at us.”
And that’s when my parents called.

FYI: I had 5 cookies for breakfast.  because they’re tasty and make me forget things.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 02 2009
Doraz

You have a very good solution. Cookies sound delicious! How were they? I love wearing fluffy socks to bed, they are sooo comfy! Hope the Dr. has a favorable report. I once had to have removed a “lump” that was explained as calcium deposits. I was confused, but happy! You have a nice blog here and nice people commenting! Have fun! *)*

SB: Thanks for stopping by! The cookies were VERY good and I had another one this morning. Any biopsies I’ve had done always came back “normal abnormal” so, yeah, I guess we’ll see… 4 hours and counting.

24 02 2009
Connie

Oatmeal is good for your heart!

Leave a Reply

