Trying to Invoke the Christmas Spirit: “No *click* no *click* no…”

22 12 2008

Okay, you know, yesterday’s story about Santa kinda did help.
And then it all went to hell with this mornings commute.

Anyway, hoping to rekindle Kris Kringle…

(waving waves of time machine)

The house I grew up in had a generic tall tree in the front yard (as did all the houses on the street) and it was quite  common to run a string of lights from your porch to the tree.
Dad (hmmm, why do almost all of my stories seem to revolve around him?) decided to hang “dancing”* lights on the tree.  While an excellent idea IN THEORY this lead to him standing in our front hallway, flicking the switch on/off a dozen times until the strands coordinated.  This involved all of the decorative lights going on and off as we had a bunch of outlet extenders and extension cords running from the porch light [power source].
Sometimes, I’d reflip the switch just to un-sync the lights.
Sorry Dad.

blink!

blink!

And then there was the time Dad helped the neighbor hang her lights.
That spring, Dad had surgery to repair a constantly dislocating shoulder.  By Fall/Winter he was pretty much good as new and decided to help the Nice Old Lady next door hang the lights in her generic tall tree.
He’s up on the ladder, finagling and then he’s down on the ground, having dislocated his OTHER shoulder.
True Story.

The first year Steve and I were together, I came over to his parents house one afternoon.
Coming in through the front door with my backpack, I pulled the door behind me.
Thinking a tag from my bag had become stuck in the door, I pulled with all my might and heard a POP.
I had crushed a C-9 bulb in the door and effectively, caused the entire string to go out.

* “Dancing” lights: Lights that would do a variety show… blink, chase, fade etc.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 12 2008
morethananelectrician

That was just mean about switching the lights.

SB Sez: Who said I was nice?

23 12 2008
Mr. Bill

You are being to kind with thinking that it was only a few dozen times. I can remember at times of bringing in a chair to sit during the “synchronization”. I notice that you post this after it is too late to send you coal for the random switch work.

SB Sez: Why do you think I waited? I would have preemptively sent me coal, if I were you. oh well, always next year.

Leave a Reply

