And if You Look Over to Your Left…

4 12 2008


Hooray for me!
My toofises are cavity-free, still.
It’s so hard to tell if the dentist is happy (“What great oral hygiene you have!”) or disappointed (“Damn, no money in her mouth.”)  Either way, I didn’t get a sticker or anything from the treasure chest of toys.
Dental Hygienist: And now we’ll floss.
me: Kay.
DH: And do you fl-
me: no.  And I have no excuse why I don’t floss.

Tomorrow is a day I am often on-the-fence about.
Annually, Steve’s Mom and I go to Pennsylvania for Christmas shopping.
The regular shopper doesn’t save that much, but SM has 28 (yes, twenty-eight) (yes, two-eight) (yes, almost thirty) people (yes, people) (yes, persons) (yes, individuals) to shop for.  28 PEOPLE.  Pretty sure that doesn’t include her husband, Steve or I.
The good news is that we get most of the shopping done.
The bad news is that I do not want to shop for about four months after we’re done.
Not to mention it takes something stronger than a Blue Moon (read:beer) for me to deal with that much Christmas cheer.
Oh and SM’s sometimes uncanny way of saying she doesn’t agree with me on something.
Example:
SM: And what’s Steve want for Christmas?
me: (something from the list)
SM, high-pitched: Really?
me: yup, right here.
SM, disapproving: Hmm.

I know I haven’t mentioned it in a while,  but I’m totally excited about my job.
Still.

Yesterday was punctuated with a pants exchange at Penny’s; and not in my favor.
For lunch, I had a tasty salad.  Dinner was not so choice, but a) I had a migraine b) I had cramps c) It was almost 8 at night and I wasn’t about to make crunchy tofu.
Today I’m feeling better.
Past two days have been pretty hard on me… my DD kicked in HARD CORE and I was a pill.  A big pill.  Hopefully that’s behind me now.

Conversation Fodder:
Are you a Holiday Ho-Ho-Ho type, a bah-humbug, an I’ll-take-it, a Christmas-starts-in-August or Holidays-mean-open-bar?

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 12 2008
neuroaster

DID YOU KNOW?: The Tooth Fairy and The Easter Bunny both have the same dentist 🙂

4 12 2008
Connie

Christmas…hmmm…somewhere in the middle of all that!
Shopping with the m.i.l., that is probably why you had a migraine and cramps 🙂

SB Sez: Oh, she’s not an ogre by any means. We have a pretty good relationship actually… it’s just I’m not used to be being challenged. Meh, could be worse.

4 12 2008
morethananelectrician

Christmas couldn’t be gone fast enough and my wife does ALL shopping. It is about dealing with all of the people and if I have to get something at the store…not having to fight the people and the traffic.

People at work go on vacation and it leaves so much stuff to fall through the cracks.

ARRRRGGGHHH!

SB Sez: I have no idea why this is the “most wonderful time of the year”. The best part is eating the head off gingerbread men. no offense 🙂

4 12 2008
thedailydish

Have fun shopping in MY STATE!! YAY! And keep thinking happy thoughts. Now, off for WINE!

I guess I am the drinking her way through the holidays (and everydays) type.

SB Sez: Too bad it’s the other side of the state… but I plan on spending my holidays much the same way.

Leave a Reply

