Wow, Either I’m Old or my Childhood ‘hood was Old

17 09 2008

When I was a youngin’ (old enough to get into trouble, young enough to not get in BIG trouble), I recall a “Dairy Bar” being around the corner the next block over.

(okay, this isn’t the one in question.)

It looked like a little shop, had a green and white metal awning, had apartments upstaits and [the shop] was closed by the time I would have wanted to go inside.  Urban Exploration was unbeknownst to me at the time.  I recall being FACINATED by this building (some things never change I guess) and often thought about what it was like in its heyday (some things never change).
What I more specifically remember, unlike the name of said establishment, was a milk machine.

Yes, a milk machine.
Though the one by me was not stocked and even if it was, I don’t think I would have trusted the milk.
I believe the one I recall had a glass door, much like the Coke Machines of yore.

What have you found on the internets that makes you kind of freak out?

(p.s. Props to forgottenbuffalo.com for their photos and memory sparking)

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2008
curlywurlygurly

i love watching grainy youtube videos of horrible old television shows like “small wonder”. i also like watching old toy commericals.

the best memory lane thing huzz & i have seen is a website that has the ENTIRE sears christmas toy catalog online from every year dating back to the dawn of man.

as i kid, i poured over that catalog every november, making dog ears on every page, writing a careful list of what i wanted for christmas. finding the catalogs online was a hoot. 🙂

SB Sez: Ah, The Sears Catatlog!!! I remember wanting that robot that could carry around a Tab! I think I know what site you’re talking about…. xentertainement or something of the like. I think there’s a link my delicious…

18 09 2008
Michele

I remember MILK MACHINES!!!!! My husband thought I was crazy. I lived in North Tonawanda for the first 7 years of my life. The first few years we actually had our milk delivered in the cool glass bottles. My mom still has the glass bottles from the last time they were delivered. Then they replaced the milk man with the machine and we would walk up to our corner to get the milk which was delivered fresh every morning! It tasted so much yummier than it does now…though I am sure as a little sprout I was drinking 2% and now I’m drinking skim.

Leave a Reply

