Book Tasking

8 07 2008

The Loverly and Other-Pond-Sided Daffy tagged me for a book task.  Let’s see what we come up with.

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123
3. Find the 5th sentence
4. Post the next three sentences
5. Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

Page 123.
(sadly, my 2009 price guide is the closet book, under that, the dictionary, under that, a short picture book, under that, ohhh!!!)
“For this example, the Aloha Flight 243 crash on April 28,1988, in Hawaii occurred to a plane that had completed ninety thousand flights in twenty-two years and therefore, ninety thousand cycles of pressurization and depressurization.  Suddenly a section of fuselage was torn away as the plane approached it’s cruising altitude near Hawaiian Islands, sucking out a flight attendant through the open ceiling of the first-class section.  All passengers strapped in by their seatbelts were saved by extraordinary skills of the pilots, who safely landed the crippled craft.”
Why Buildings Fall Down, Matthys Levy and Mario Salvadori

Leetttsss seee, I tag EverReading Melissa, EverReading Allison, if curlywurlygurly wasn’t on vacation…. Michele- if she’s around, and Dad’s on vaca as well, so um.. yeah.
How about whoever wants to play, can.

GROUP SKATE!
*hums “PYT” by Michael Jackson*

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2008
Melissa

First, can I just share with you that I opened my book (the one I am currently reading…Boomsday by Christopher Buckley) and my bookmark is on….page 123. Freaky.

“The idea of aging, self indulgent Boomers killing themselves rather than becoming an oppressive financial burden to their children and the nation was not anathema to these young viewers. In fact, to them it sounded like a darn good idea. They especially liked the part where the govermnment would eliminate all death taxes so Mom and Dad’s money could flow straight to them.”

Alright, listen. I’m not some sicko suggesting that baby boomers kill themselves to reduce the financial burden on the country when they retire. I’m reading political satire, not a how to manual.

uh-huh *wink*

9 07 2008
daffy

Good Sport SB!
I think my husband would rather like that book, he is far more intelligent than I. I tend to stick to Mills & Boon… ;o)

I have an unreal fascination with disaster… perhaps it’s my subconscious wanting to be prepared. My husband recommended this book (he basically sticks to technical manuals and schematics) but I was surprised by the non-technicality of it.

13 07 2008
Allison

I’ll do this soon 🙂

I might have to stategically plan which book I am near.

Leave a Reply

