“Present” E: Entertainment

20 06 2008

In the summer when I turned 10 (that’d be 19 years ago for those of you playing at home), I was supposed to see Debbie Gibson and Tiffany at the local amusement park.

Fate, as it ends up, was in the air, along with the thunder and lighting and eventual raining out of the event.

So, in the fall, Dad took me to see…

With special guest

Now, this was back in the day of “Arena Rock” (Generational translation: Bands playing, NOT LIP SYNCING, in sold-out areanas where sports are played.  Elaborate stage shows, fireworks, fire pillars, giant inflatable props, flshing lights…)

And we’re sitting in the only area where we could get tickets, The Nosebleeds.
“Daddy?”
“Yes hun?”
“Why are those guys behind us sharing a cigarette?”
“Uhhhh…”
And I’m sure he came up with some elaborate story about it (it wasn’t a cigarette as much as it was a joint), much like they first time I found a condom.  (“It’s a static bag for my chips for work.”)

Thus, changing the course of my teenage years forever.  I wonder what would have happened if I would have seen Debbie and Tiffany instead… I’d probably have a minivan.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 06 2008
daffy

Ah, Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. I think Debbie Gibson is on Broadway… Tiffany, now I think she stripped for playboy so perhaps your dad had the right idea… I think your learning curve with Whitsnake and Motley Crue would have been far more beneficial.
I’ve seen Whitsnake, my brother used to be a heavy metal nut and sadly our parents used to make him take me with him! It didn’t do me much harm… having said that I do tend to Head Bang whenever I hear Motorhead. :o)

LEMMY!!!!

20 06 2008
curlywurlygurly

woo hoo! motley crew and whitesnake–now if that isn’t a great double-bill, i don’t know what is. it almost rivals the show i was dragged to see: nelson and enuff z nuff. dear god, help me. my friend made me go–she was sweating the nelson twins. argh. nightmares.

21 06 2008
Allison

Could’ve been so beautiful
Could’ve been so right

9 12 2008
Mr. Bill

Hey… give me back my cigarette.

SB Sez: Hey man, Dave’s not here.

Leave a Reply

