Character Flaw (?)

2 06 2008

Okay, here’s a question for you reader(s).

When someone annoys the living snot out of you, how do you deal with it?

I’ve tried the “ah-ha-ha-ha” approach and that doesn’t help.  I’ve tried being causally aloof (“k.”), I’ve tried to ignore the commentary but like, I really don’t want to be a bitch (seeing as it’s all office improper and all) but like, my coping mechanisms don’t know what else to do.  I’ve tried to engage in conversation hoping that I would be as found as interesting as a piece of used tape….

And this whole thing has got me thinking, what makes people not get along?
I mean, do I blame my parents?  My thoughts/raising was if it’s not brought to your attention, it is not for your attention.  Everyone has their own thing and if it’s not your thing to take care, you may creatively criticize, but you don’t be a douche about it.
Now for that, could people who bug me have been raised to think, “Make sure everything is taken care of, regardless of whether it’s your responsibility or not”?
Or maybe some people are content making other people want to throw their shoes.  Like how the smell of garlic pleases me, maybe irritating people does it for them.  (that was totally ambiguous and probably totally confusing)

It’s been a while since I’ve had the whole Am-I-A-Jerk-or-are-You-the-Jerk conflict, but I ‘m guess I’m just looking for the internets to tell me that I’m not entirely crazy, other people have people they deal with that they’d rather put outside on the lawn, and perhaps, I’m the one who is incorrect in my annoyance.
Because, frankly, there are days when I’m at my wit’s end and am so afraid that my thoughts are going to come out as word vomit at the most inappropriate time.

So maybe this is two questions.

A) How do you deal with people who annoy you to the point of wanting to throw a pad of paper at them?

B) Do you find that the way you were raised (ideals-wise) sometimes makes it hard for you to not maim other people with a highlighter?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

