I Only Play Stupid

27 05 2008

We’re driving to a friends house for some Memorial Day antics.
him: so I found the [golf] driver I want.
me: I know.
him: Nooooooo, I told you about last years model and this years is out and it’s only $50 dollars more.
me: so you’re telling me that instead of spending $X, you want to spend ($x+$50).
him: Uh.  Yeah.  But I didn’t want to come right out and say it was ($x+50)
me: I choose when I’m bad at math but I don’t tell you when I’m good at math.
him: Oh.

So now we’re at the golf store.
me: why don’t you just drop me off at the mall (directly across the parking lot) and you call me when you’re ready because I don’t want to stand around while you test drive.
him, pouting: You don’t want to spend time with me?
me: Me standing around while you talk golf hardly constitutes spending time together.  If you’re going to go in, pick up the club and then leave, fine, I’ll hang out.

Forty-five minutes later, I’m still in the sporting goods store.
him: I’m in trouble aren’t I.
me: I am trying on SO MANY shoes at Kohl’s and I’m not going to buy any of them.  Oh, and by the way, how do I look today?
him, conceding: You look good.
me: *hair flip*

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2008
curlywurlygurly

there’s such a place as a golf store? does everyone wear those spikey shoes and plaid pants??? i only like mini-golf…or driving the little golf cart. but that’s just me… 🙂

29 05 2008
stopbouncing

While there are ACTUAL golf stores around, this particular on is in a sporting goods store.
Basically, every young Republican works in the golf department and there’s a bunch of CEO’s wandering around wondering if a box of $75 golf balls is worth it.
Meanwhile, Steve’s there in his Nike tee shirt, jeans and busted sneakers while I hold up the wall in capris and Sketchers Ballet flats.

I enjoy golf, although I’m not very good at it and haven’t had the chance to play since I stopped being so distracted.

I did find a kick-ass pair of Nike spikes though … but I’m not spending $100 on a pair of shoes I’ll wear three times a year. Tops.

Leave a Reply

