The Worm

5 05 2008

In honor of Cinco de Mayo, I offer up this piece from the memory archives:

When I was a kid, growing up on a tight-knit street, our house was known for two things.
One was the Black Forest Coo-Coo clock that would draw crowds of kids at noon (when we’d remember to wind it) and the other was my Dad drinking the worm in the tequila.
In case you’ve been sheltered more then me, here is what I’m talking about:
the worm!

(yes, that is a real worm.  No, I don’t know if this is the actual brand of tequila.  Yes, this is really what it looks like.)
Tequila wasn’t common place in our house, Dad’s a rum guy.  So to have a bottle of tequila in the house was an occasion in itself.  I would put the bottle on the floor and spin it back and forth, trying to get the worm to come back to life; watching it slosh back and forth inside the bottle.  I do believe that we would encourage him to finish the bottle as soon as possible so we could all watch him drink the worm.
Dad would make the announcement that he was going to drink the worm and we scattered to round up as many kids as possible.  If memory serves correct, we had kids from two blocks over watch the spectacle.
A kitchen full of kids in rings around my dad (tallest in the back, natch), he would pour the end of the bottle into a shot glass, grab a lemon and some salt and with baited breath (“He’s not going to drink that worm!?!”) he tilted his head back and worm and tequila were gone in a flash. A body rush would take over my dad and he’s wraggle around, “EeEEHHHHHHGGGHHHH!”
The girls would screech in terror, the boys would rejoice in “awesome!!!” and we’d be back outside playing ghost-man kickball in no time.

In a bizarre twist of fate, Steve actually can’t drink tequila.  I mean it.  I saw him drink it once (after drinking a number of other items) and he threw up.  Not everything, just one ounce of tequila.  And then he did a beer bong.  And I fell in love.  And later I threw up all over his room.  AND HE STILL LOVES ME!!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 05 2008
curlywurlygurly

ewww! i always wondered if anyone ever drank ‘the worm’–as a kid i couldn’t believe it was real! thanks for clarifying this for me.

feliz cinco de mayo!

9 12 2008
Mr. Bill

ahhh yes, I think I remember…

Leave a Reply

