I Didn’t RSVP to a Pity Party!

21 04 2008

There are some people I just don’t like talking to.
It’s not that they’re bad people, it’s that everything they say is gloom and doom, even when it’s something that’s not all gloom and doom.  Ya dig?

I.E.
Employee #1: “Hey there co-worker, how was your weekend?”
Employee #2: “Overdramatization of typical, yet tedious homeowner tasks.”
Employee #1:”Wow, sounds like you had a productive weekend!”
Employee #2: “I’m so tired/beat/overworked from lawn work/house work/spring tasks!”
Employee #1: “I agree, as I also did a number of the tasks that you mentioned.”
Employee #2: “But I did more and mine was worse.  Woe is me.  Exaggerated sigh!”
Employee #1: “Uh-huh….”

Another example
Employee #1: “Wow co-worker, you’re rubbing your temples for the umpteeth time this morning, are you okay?
Employee #2: “It’s just this mess I put myself in.  I shouldn’t have done what I did and now I am going to walk around looking distraught until someone offers to assist in my hole digging.”
Employee #1: “I have to go over here now.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 04 2008
curlywurlygurly

oh yes…we must work at the same job.

but don’t forget these people: you know the ones–you ask ‘how are you? (rhetorically, to be polite more than anything) and then he/she spouts a litany of maladies and problems…

argh!

26 04 2008
Allison

That reminds me of the Debbie Downer skits from SNL.

Leave a Reply

