My New Nemesis

17 04 2008

I feel the need to tell you about my new nemesis at the gym.
Oh, sure, the hamstring curl machine and I don’t get along and once I get the strength to throw the overhead triceps machine out the window, I will.
However, last night I decided to try a new cardio machine that I had been watching from across the way.

New Nemesis

The above picture would be of a Cybex Arc Trainer.
It looked fairly easy and like it allowed for a full range of motion.
I step onto the machine and am instantly lunged forward.  I think my face selected “fat burner” from the menu and I was off for a 25 minute stride.
Chugging along, I was thinking that this wasn’t such a bad idea.  Then there came a noise from the fly wheel and suddenly, my comfortable floating became labored and I grabbed onto the handrails for support.
A few minutes later, there was more grinding and my strides became graceful again.  While this sounds good, it again caused me to lurch into the display.
This on-again-off-again continued for the full 25 minutes and the last five minutes of the ride, I really had to push myself to not puss out and quit.
Dripping, but content, I checked the workout summary.
1.5 miles, 206 calories.
In 25 minutes.
This may not sound fantastic, but I usually burn about 100 calories in a mile on the treadmill/elliptical in the same amount of time.
By the time I got done cleaning out the office and crawled into bed, my butt hurt like no ones business.

Dear Arc Trainer,
I hate you but I love you at the same time.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 04 2008
Allison

I’ve seen this machine (or something nearly like it) but have never been brave enough to try it. I’m a stepmill girl myself, and I vow anew to stay away from a machine that potentially causes head injuries.

21 04 2008
stopbouncing

evil.
pure evil.

24 04 2008
fastbackss

Umm. That girl on the arc trainer looks like a doll. She looks like something out of a stop action type cartoon. I think she was on Robot Chicken.

6 05 2008
I OWN YOU!!! « please, stop bouncing

[…] Comments As you may recall, the Cybex Arc Trainer and I had a bit of tussle a while ago. (viewable naw in case you missed […]

Leave a Reply

