Weekend Project #5746

14 04 2008

On Friday, I picked up five cases of carpet tile.  This was after much discussing about patterns and tile vs. rolled carpet.
We compromised and I got my carpet tile and he got his pattern.
While tile was by far the easiest thing I think I’ve ever installed, it did take a bit of pre-work.

Steve removed the old carpet (and carpet is a loosely used term here… you know what I mean if you saw the brown carpet which was in the original playroom) while I moved even more crap into our back room.

Our \"workshop\"

Finally, with the floor swept, we were ready to start.

Bare Floor

Well, kind of.

So the International Society of the Rule of Carpeting: Rule #65 states that one must find the center of the room prior to laying down the first piece.  This sounds like an easy task, unless you’re married to an engineer, in which case, this part of the process allows you make a pot of coffee, take pictures of carpet tiles and play fetch with the dog while your husband takes a permanent marker to the concrete floor and writes enough equations to allow for the building of a  homemade nuclear reactor.

100

Steve finishes finding the millionth number of Pi center of the room and it happens to be right under the pole that he’s been saying he wants to remove and I’ve been saying holds the house up.

Support Pole... The word support is very important

(note the dotting the the floor to the right of the pole… even more to the right is the scribbling of square footage, etc.)

First, he decided to cut a tile and wrap it around the pole.  Then while he was cutting a tile for another pole, I was placing full squares across the room.  I was filled with delight that perhaps this would go quickly and we would have time for pancakes.
About fifty squares in, which coincidentally is the room from the stairs to the bar, He decides that having to cut along three walls is not such a good idea and perhaps we should move all the squares up an eighth of an inch to allow for bumping against the drywall.
Now, if you’ve never put down carpet tile, this would not seem like such a big deal.  Allow me to set the record straight.  The design of carpet tile is such that the tiles keystone into one another and while “stick” isn’t the right word, they stick to the floor.  So to move the row, it’s not like you can push up from one end and then make pancakes.
Oh no, you have to pull up ALL THE TILES and readjust them.  ONE BY ONE.
So I get the new configuration set and Steve, again, decides that there is going to be a lot of cutting an waste.  Up come the tiles.
Working against rule #65, we opt to start from the corner.  And rules, be damned, it actually worked!
Until we got to the pole.
The next thing I know, Steve’s got a dowel and a hammer and is beating the crap out of the screw system which keeps the pole in place.  He moves the pole, slides a tile underneath and puts the pole back in place.  To test it’s structural integrity, I jump up on it and do a hang to see if I, or the house, comes crashing down.  Neither did.

Installation Complete

And a little while later, we got all the tiles in and cut.  BTW, that is Bailey’s tail (again) to the lower right.  Really.
I think this picture better shows the pattern.

All in

And so after the party is the after party.
We had a few friends over and out came the beer pong table.
Our friend Ed decides that he’s going to be all cute and silly and he grabs onto the debated support pole and swings around.
We laughed until the pole came loose from the ceiling and they both fell over.
I do not really remember this incident and perhaps this picture explains why.

She made us drinks

Although this picture does not explain any of Bailey’s behavior.

B\'s, the Beer Wench

(I like sharing pictures, however, I feel a bit, storybook when I do so) (whatever)

The best part: now that we have all the carpet in, the basement is like a real living space.  When I rolled off the couch Sunday morning, the mess (once again used loosely) was contained to the basement.  I think the angels took a side trip and sang behind me as I “cleaned” up.

So, you’re probably asking yourself, “wow, what else do they have to do?!”

  • Procure the sink/storage area (right now I’m using a bucket for dirty glasses and an old bookcase for storage)
  • Run plumbing
  • Sand, prime, paint, panel the bar-side (like you didn’t notice the green drywall!)
  • Replace the ceiling
  • Box in or remove the support pole (depending which one of us you talk to)
Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2008
Ed

I hate to take sides, but I have to agree with Steve. I have to scientific or factual evidence to base this on, I only present the following argument: Support Beams are for pussies. You’re not a pussy, are you Stephanie?
(I bet you thought I was going to point out the fact that Steve is an engineer, but I also believe that pointing out fact based opinions is for pussies).

15 04 2008
stopbouncing

wait, explain the difference agian between “having” and “are”

Leave a Reply

