How to Piss Me Off: At Work

11 03 2008

(if you actually work with me and do any of these things, I’m sorry, it’s nothing personal…  And these are not necessarily current peeves.)

  • Use the last of the paper towels/coffee/copy paper/fax paper and don’t replace it
  • Leave faxes on the machine.  Especially those journal/transmission reports and obvious junk mail (“Go to Cancun for $0.12!!”)
  • Use a wet spoon in the powdered creamer
  • Don’t rinse your spoon after mixing your coffee
  • Leave your dishes in the sink
  • Leave the sponge in the sink, directly over the drain
  • Talk REALLY LOUD on the phone
  • Have your phone turned up so loud that people across the office can hear it
  • Fart around all day and then complain about how behind you are
  • Woe is me… especially of my own doing
  • Overuse air freshener
  • Assume that because I am at my desk, I am at your beck and immediate call, being able to drop whatever it is that I’m doing to help you
  • Invade my personal space
  • Move things on my desk
  • Comment on the paperwork in my in-box
  • Comment LOUDLY on how busy I look
  • Try to be funny when you’re incompetent
  • Leave your water/coffee/soda on my desk for an insane amount of time
  • Eat a banana and throw the rind in my trashcan
  • Read me the riot act when I don’t ask you if you want anything for lunch and never offer to pick me up anything if you go out
  • Read over my shoulder
  • Comment about how you’re going to change things after you’ve been here for three days
  • Comment about how I do my job
  • Tell me I’m wrong
  • Assume that I am stupid because of my age or hair color
  • Complain about how hard it is to do a simple task so someone will do it for you
  • Come to me minutes before the end of my shift and ask me to do something labor intensive
  • Clip your nails
  • Provide running commentary on whatever task I’m doing Provide running commentary on whatever you’re observing
  • Ignore me
  • Accuse me of things that I did (or did not) do; whichever makes me look bad
  • Set me up for your falls
  • Don’t listen to me
  • Complain when I don’t notice your new haircut/glasses/shirt but you don’t notice my new haircut/glasses/shirt
  • Call me “kid” (or some variation thereof) because you have a child (or grandchild) my age
  • Leave coffee/water/food on the kitchen counter
  • “Not my problem”
  • “That’s not what I said.”

Yeah, that’s about it off the top of my head.

What pisses you off at work?

Actions

Information

One response

11 03 2008
SeeTheCat???

Do people really clip their nails at your work? Gross. I just found you by surfing wordpress – nice blog! I would be interested in your short story if you are comfortable sharing with a complete stranger. If not, that’s cool too.

~cat

Leave a Reply

