Curling! (the sport)

23 12 2009

Vhhhattt is deeeeeseee?

DSC06053

It almost looks as though our incapable blogmistress is playing a sport!
Let’s take a look…

curl2

Toque? Check!
Team Canada jersey? Check!
Left foot covered in clear packing tape? CHECK!

Yes, it’s true.
Stephanie played a sport.
And yes, curling is a sport.
Don’t believe me?
You try hurdling a 34 lb rock down a sheet of ice while not overshooting or undershooting. Oh, and aim towards a big ol’bullseye.

By the end of the two hours, my gloves were off, sleeves were up and hat was removed.
You chase a rock down a sheet of ice, pushing with one foot and sliding with the other while whisking a burlap covered brush!

As far as injuries, I fell over almost every time I threw the rock and in one of my woo-woo-woo-ing falls, I overstretched something in my inner thigh.

All in all, not too bad.
I’d do it again!

Actions

Information

7 responses

23 12 2009
whatigotsofar

Reasons why curling is awesome:
– you can drink while playing
– the sound of two rocks hitting each other
– women yelling “HARD!” over and over again

23 12 2009
S. Le

Older Brother played that at uni! He was a “sweeper” mostly.

You have a cunning hat! (Firefly reference) I’d wind up falling on my arse!

“Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice. Pull down your pants and slide on the ice!”

23 12 2009
daisyfae

if you can drink beer whilst curling, it is my second favorite sport. behind bowling. which also requires beer.

23 12 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Oh wow, this is taking me back to upstate New York now. Not to mention to Canada, eh?

24 12 2009
S. Le

Happy Christmas to you!

24 12 2009
Melissa

*love*

24 12 2009
morethananelectrician

Curling is so cool. And I feel a bunch of “women sweeping” jokes coming into my brain…thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

